We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domstrasse 10-16, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Almeria, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Don't expect much from this hotel but the really helpful staff, its comfortable beds and the perfect location make it ideal for a 3 day trip. Nice breakfast too and don't miss going to a nice restaurant right on the cathedral square below Excelsio Hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear evamariagris,

Thank you most sincerely for you comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    102
    57
    11
    6
See reviews for
16
95
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Hotel very convenient for a quick stop over in transit being located just across the road from the main railway station.
Arrived in the evening for a buffet dinner which offered a choice over three courses which satisfied our hunger after a long days travelling
After dinner the bar was not manned so after a wait for service we gave up and went outside for a drink.
Bedroom was compact the beds just a little hard for our liking but we slept sound enough,
Breakfast was good with a range of cold and hot fare.
All in all a good place to stay for one or two nights but no longer

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear vuepoint,

thank you very much for your very valubale feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay here and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The upside of this hotel is that it is only a short walk from the main railway station and the staff were pleasant and hard working. Unfortunately they cannot cope with large numbers (we were a group of 40 and not the only group that evening). The impression is of a quality hotel that has been well used and requires some renovation and renewal. It is okay for a night and fulfils its purpose.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Coling F,

thank you very much for your recent stay and for your feedback. We will forward your comments about the required renovation to the according department. We hope to see you again on your next visit in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline,Il
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here from Brussels for the Christmas markets, great central location decent price good free breakfast. Walked to 4 markets had a great time.staff was helpful and spoke English, also rooms were nice good shower and bed

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear rockriverbum,

Thank you for choosing the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

"Good" should be an option on the rating scale and that's a just about right for this hotel. Just steps away from the central train station and an easy walk to the Dom Christmas market makes this a good home base for all things Koln at Christmastime. Comfy beds with blackout curtains were just the right touch after a night of revelry. Good water pressure and large shower. Big downside to this hotel... Smoking rooms. Smell permeated the room so sleeping with a window open is advised. Breakfast was a nice treat in a festively decorated, well lit room. Choice of meats, cheeses, eggs, pastry and other bites served in small jars. Whole pot of coffee for your table! If all of this meets your needs then stay here. Friendly service as well.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Fleacyno,

Thank you for choosing the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cley Next the Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights to visit Cologne's Christmas markets and the hotel is ideally placed for this. Within easy walking distance of the mainline station and the Dom. I have only given an average rating because the accommodation is slightly tired. Our room was on the small side and the bathroom needed some updating. However the room was tided and cleaned to an extremely good standard each day. Beds were very comfortable and it was very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful with an excellent choice of hot food or continental style and the breads on offer were amazing. The staff were extremely friendly and spoke English. Would recommend it for a City break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear oldcodgers_12,

Thank you for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We used this hotel for a two night leisure break - it was exceptionally good. We were received with a warm genuine welcome with English very widely spoken. The room was better than average for a city break hotel and it had a large flat screen tv. All you need is included - tea/coffee, shower gel even complimentary water each day. The breakfast is outstanding with both hot and cold choices, English and continental. Nice restaurant decor comfy cosy bar, very happy, will certainly go again to any of their hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear SteveM,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much and all on the team say very heartfelt thank you! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre

Address: Domstrasse 10-16, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centreis situated centrally, at the heart of Cologne city and only 100 metres from Cologne Central Station. Located in a quiet side street, our hotel provides you with a high level sleeping comfort, comfortable beds and peace. Cologne cathedral, numerous shops and many museums are easy to reach on foot from our hotel. Messe Koln trade fair centre is only 15 minutes walk away. And it is only a few metres to the beautiful banks of the Rhine with its promenades. 85 Friendly and spacious hotel rooms await you in the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre. The warm and friendly atmosphere in country style conveys cosiness and high living comfort. You can use WiFi internet access in all rooms, free of charge. Coffee-and tea making facilities and 2 bottles of mineralwater in the rooms are free of charge. Relax after an exciting Cologne day and recharge your batteries in our hotel's sauna and fitness area. Two flexible conference rooms with modern conference technology are available for business travellers and conference guests. There are sufficient parking spaces in our hotel's underground car park (fees apply). Enjoy a relaxed start to your Cologne day in our hotel's breakfast restaurant Pergola. Enjoy the beautiful atmosphere of our light and friendly breakfast room. The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre's balanced breakfast buffet awaits you with an extensive choice of food. The lobby bar of the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre is an attractive and cosmopolitan location to enjoy a relaxed end to the day. Soak up the wonderful atmosphere while enjoying pleasant conversation and a glass of Kolsch beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Garden Mark Cologne
Hotel Euro Garden Mark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.