We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Kolsch!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brauerei zur Malzmuehle

Brauerei zur Malzmuehle
Heumarkt 6, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Süd)
+49 0221/210117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 1,729 Restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Süd
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good Kolsch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, real Koln pub with lots of locals as guests here! Really tasty food!! Nice interior, busy place! Loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    126
    36
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fantastic beer. Didn't eat here as there was no time. But beer was very nice especially the darker stronger one. No lemonade so my girlfriend had kolsh and fanta which she loved... Each to their own

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Traditional Food, Good Service, Reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This restaurant serves fantastic traditional German food. Probably the best German food I've ever had. It was absolutely delicious and full of local people. I ordered a great schnitzel dish with potatoes, goulash and salad. You could go to many similar restaurants in the city and spend more but this one is one of the best and was reasonably priced. The service was very quick. The restaurant was very pleasant inside with a traditional flair.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
“Great local brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The host at our B&B recommended this restaurant. The beer is wonderful and the food hearty. We had the schnitzel and it was very good. Very affordable as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Second best beer hall in Cologne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

After paffgen my favourite beer hall in cologne. Beer is lovely though I prefer the hoppier paffgen.

Was bombed out on war like rest of city but interior faithfully reconstructed so it feels like an old place with character when you walk through the revolving door.

Service was brisk though as it was karneval it was very busy and took a ebike to get a spot. When we did it was great and we all really enjoyed it. Whole place was full of people in fancy dress for karneval so atmosphere was great.

Have eaten here before and food was good.

A must on a visit to Cologne

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brauerei zur Malzmuehle also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Brauerei zur Malzmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brauerei zur Malzmuehle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.