We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great breakfasts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SPITZ

SPITZ
Pfeilstrasse 31-37, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)
+49 221 16 909 848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #221 of 1,723 Restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We've been here a few times now as it is just across the street from our new apartment.
The breakfasts here are great - lots of bread and cheeses / meats, etc.
The Strammer Max (ham and egg on toast) is also really good.

Suppers are also nice and we've tried quite a few! I enjoyed the backfisch (only available on Fridays) and the haxe is also good.

They do quite a few monthly specials in food and drinks - for example the new Winzerpunsch is very nice indeed!

The atmosphere is fine, and no problems with the service.

They also have an open courtyard for summer time or fine autumn / spring days.

All in all a very nice place to visit :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Herzogenrath, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious German food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

After few cities we visited in Germany, finally we could find German traditional foods in this restaurant. It was a sweet and cozy restaurant with helpful waitress who was very patient explaining us about the menu. We tried delicious Weisswurst for appetizer and Sauerbraten for the main course. And we also try the warm Rosemary tea. All of the menus are perfect and Spitz become our must-visit-restaurant in Köln.. :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good for local food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went to the Spitz twice for dinner (love German food!) and the experience was overall good, but a bit variable. The first night the restaurant was fairly busy but our waitress was attentive and helpful and the food really good. The second time we went it was only a few other customers (a bit early in the evening), and although the food was good it was nowhere near the standard of the first evening. My partner had pork which was not cooked for long enough, and my medium steak was rare and had way too much herby seasoning. That said, the lovely food on the first evening makes me give this place a fairly good rating although it turned out to be a bit of a hit and miss.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place serves sweet and savoury and would recommend for a lazy Sunday brunch. There is a small garden inside the place that in summer is really the place to get your table in

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value, local flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great value, quick and efficient service. Waitress could discuss types of beer and tell us the potato mash had muskatnuss a.k.a. nutmeg. Lovely weinerschnitzels and spaetzle. House Riesling is good value

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SPITZ also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to SPITZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SPITZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.