We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suckling pig is absolutely succulent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaffel am Dom

Gaffel am Dom
Bahnhofsvorplatz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)
0221-9139260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 1,724 Restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: Diner, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Suckling pig is absolutely succulent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Brauereis are all over the place in Cologne, but Gaffel am Dom outdoes its neighbors. It is the only place I've found good suckling pig, and the Koelsch beer flows in proper quantities. This is a must for anyone visiting Cologne.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    165
    62
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Typical Cologne Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very nice food, lovely Cologne beer served in small glasses. You'll keep getting a fresh one without beeing asked unless you put your beermat on top of the glass

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GAFFEL !!! Good Kolsch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you want to have a nice Kolsch beer. I can recommend the Gaffel am Dom brauhaus. It has a good ambiance and the beer is delicious. Definitely a go!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strange place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I orded my food and when it got to me i found a long grey pube in my dinner, i ate it. and it made me very happy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Easy dish made difficult”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Located just outside Cologne main train station, next to the cathedral, this place has two entranced, and it is very easy to find.

A typical German beer house, big place with big tables, wood all over the place, serving beer as if serving water, atmosphere is nice.

The beer isn't bad, but it's difficult to find bad beer in Germany. The problem was the food. I ordered a suckling pig with fried potatoes. The pig arrived, tough and dry, roasted at high temperature which makes it loose it's tenderness, in the same dish, what had to be fried potatoes were more as baked potatoes, which did taste good but not as in the menu. I was disappointed cause I went to have a suckling pig which is tender in itself, but here they ruined it. I still ate it cause these places you have to accept them as they are, that is their style of doing it.

Perhaps I was still dreaming the pork of Scwhane Janes in Dusseldorf or the real suckling pig at Botin in Madrid.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaffel am Dom also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Gaffel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaffel am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.