We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sandmanns

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cologne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sandmanns
Save
You added Hotel Sandmanns to your Saves list
An den Dominikanern 7, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rialto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed earlier this month in this hotel, it is lin a great location, one block away from the train station and lots of places to eat and stores very close by. Very clean, modern rooms and the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful to recommend us places to go, the breakfast was really good too, Next time visiting Cologne will definitely book this hotel again, definitely recommend this great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    22
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
23
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very clean, easy access to or from train Station and Cathedral, staff are very friendly, Classic europian breakfast was great, only minutes away walking distance to shopping centers and food Court in Cologne, i really liked it!! It was a nice stayed at Sandmanns. From: Los Angeles, CA USA

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice, clean, modern hotel with a sand/desert theme. Rooms very comfortable and quiet. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. When our room wasn't ready (since we checked in early), the manager held our bags as we went sightseeing. When we returned, our bags had been brought to our room. The small buffet breakfast in the downstairs lounge had good variety of breads, cheeses, meats and cereal. Boiled eggs were offered and cooked just right. Good location a short walk from the rail station, convenient to shopping, restaurants and the Cathedral. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

A travel agent reserved a room in this hotel for me, and I did not know what to expect. I was very happy with their choice.
Hotel Sandmanns is very close to the railway station - just a bit more than a block. it is also very close to Cologne Cathedral. It is nicely decorated, and has the most basic things you need in the room. TV, internet, hairdryer... It was quiet and I slept really well.
The staff is very nice and helpfull, and the rooms are very clean. I can't remember staying in a cleaner hotel. I also enjoyed the breakfast in the lounge, especially the very tasty coffie.
If I will visit Cologne again, I will book a room in this hotel.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sandmanns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandmanns

Address: An den Dominikanern 7, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sandmanns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.