We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ganesha

Ganesha
Haendelstr. 26, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Neustadt-Süd)
*49-221-21 31 65
Improve this listing
Ranked #391 of 1,724 Restaurants in Cologne
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Neustadt-Süd
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been looking for a good Indian place around Cologne for some time. Had a really nice Thali, good food and generous portions. The service was also reasonably friendly, though more staff might help.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Proper Indian food in Cologne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

After some months living in Cologne, I hadn't yet found an indian restaurant with very good food and a nice price. Now I can say: finally!
We've arrived late (last customers, group of 4), nevertheless they were still friendly and polite. Service was good and very fast. Their food was delicious and not expensive. It's a small and cosy restaurant, and it's only a 5 minute walk from Rudolfplatz.
I truly recommend visiting Ganesha, if you enjoy Indian food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
“Very good restaurant in Cologne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was one the best mid-range restaurants that I tried in Cologne.
Friendly staff, very good food and pretty acceptable prices! If you want to go for good Indian food and you don't have a lot to spend this is definitely the place to go! :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good and not too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you're British, in Cologne and feeling homesick for a good Indian then you'll be well served here. The staff are pleasant, the food is pretty good and the prices are more or less okay. In my opinion, the management could employ some new cleaning staff, but it wasn't so bad that I wanted to leave and go somewhere else. I didn't try anything that was listed as being "hot", but even "medium" was pretty spicy, so approach with caution, if you are sensitive to hot food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesha also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Ganesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganesha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.