We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service but lacking atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taku

Taku
Trankgasse 1-5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)
02212703909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,729 Restaurants in Cologne
Price range: $30 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Description: Taku means the home of hospitality. This meaning is completely relevant in the Asian restaurant Taku in the Excelsior Hotel in Köln. Here you can experience palate teasers from the kitchen's different Far East cookery and high end culture. Head chef Nicolas Auersperg cooks his dishes with authenticity and creativity and takes his ideas from purist Japanese, hearty Chinese or well rounded Thai and Vietnamese cuisine. The Taku offers two solutions for business people: the Office-Box in two sizes, that you can either collect yourself, or have it brought to your work desk, or the weekly changing business lunch which can be eaten in the restaurant itself. For a stay full of enjoyment, the modest service team welcomes guests in the timeless elegance of the Taku on the cathedral square. Here you can indulge in speciality dishes taken from fine Asian cuisine, served with an appropriate sake, or a wine to accompany the meal.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service but lacking atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I enjoyed my meal at Taku very much. The cooking was of a very high standard and it was my first time enjoying fusion food at this level. The service was attentive but not fussy. The only negative was that the restaurant was extremely quiet.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“good food, but a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

we had our business dinner at the restaurant and i am glad i didn't have to pay.
i mean the food and the service were really good, but when we left we had to pay about 150 euros including drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Five star food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The dinner we had in Taku on 12 October 2013 was one of those experiences you will never forget. Between the menu on offer and a la carte dishes with wines suggested by the house we want from one wow experience to the next. The food was excellent. The service was even better. Asia meets Europa, all accompanied by German wines, nothing short of excellent, brilliant and at an affordable price tag. Next time we go to Cologne we will go back for more...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tudela, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good Kitchen...good dishes...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very good dishes, nice menú, excellent atenttion, a bit expensive but worthly for tasting asian food style.
Decoration is good, quiet atmosphere, nice personnel, excellent flavour.
I recommend for business or couples... It is worthly...at least once...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fusion cuisine at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The fusion food served here is extremely creative and very tasty. Small portions make it possible to try a number of dishes (we had the 6 course menu which was perfect). Service is friendly and knowledgeable, good wine selection including an excellent selection of reasonably-priced German wines. Good advice was provided by the sommeliere. As befits a restaurant of this quality, the meal lasted a few hours. Nice extra touches included several amuse-bouches and delicious hand-made chocolates with coffee or tea. The quiet ambiance was also very much appreciated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taku also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Taku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.