We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, perfect choice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center to your Saves list
Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   97, Hansaring, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #54 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, perfect choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

A real four star hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, modern and elegant decoration, excellent building. Our room was large and pleasant, breakfast was also very good. Close to Cologne's main attractions, right next to a train and subway station. In previous reviews, i read that some had trouble in sleeping, due to the train station being nearby -we didn't experience such a problem. A hotel we would suggest to anyone visiting Cologne.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    201
    64
    26
    15
See reviews for
41
144
35
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Got a great deal via otel.com, £189 for 3 nights including breakfast. Was a bit apprehensive as I've never used them before, but everything was fine. Noting the previous review regarding the credit card, I paid the €20 deposit in cash. This was returned at check-out minus the €4 for the two beers from the reasonably priced mini-bar. The room was large and comfortable, with a full size bath in the ensuite. Breakfast was very good with an excellent selection to cater for all tastes. Free internet access was a definite bonus, not many hotels offer that. The main station and cathedral are only a brisk ten minute walk away and there are ample bars/restaurants in the area. The only downside was the proximity to the railway line which runs directly behind the hotel. I would definitely stay there again, but would request a room at the opposite end, away from the noise of the numerous trains.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Azimut hotel for 2 nights. The location and breakfast are fine but the service disappointed us greatly. on the arrival the receptionist asked us for the credit card and she assured us that no money would be taken unless we used the minibar. We did not use it, but back home we found out that 20 euros was taken from the account the moment we checked in! I wrote a letter to the hotel management but received no reply at all! I think it is a very bad service no management attention to customers. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody, they could be deceived.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

While not right in the centre of Cologne (as other reviews state it's between 10 and 15 minutes on foot to the Cathedral) it is right next to the underground and the mainline Hansaring train station.

The rooms are larger than most hotels I have stayed in and are very comfortable. The rooms are very tastefully furnished, very much in keeping with the 1920s/1930s design of the building. The bathroom in particular is very nicely decorated. The room I stayed in had a large bath with a powerful shower overhead.

The breakfast room was very large and the selection and quality of the food on offer was very impressive.

On a very minor downside, the only TV channel in English was CNN. I would have liked BBC World, which is available in many hotels worldwide. This seemed a puzzling omission to me, given that there were channels from every other major European country.

The Saturn shop in the same building has a massive range of DVDs and CDs - it's well worth a look.

The hotel is tremendous value and even drinks from the minibar won't leave a hole in your wallet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkenes, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

The hotel is not the most central in Köln, but as we love walking when visiting places, this is considered an advantage! The Dom/city centre is only a 15 min stroll away.

The rooms are large and nicely furnished. The beds were good, a little on the hard side. Although the closest neighbour is the local train station, but noise wasn't a problem due to good windows. The tram/train to Düsseldorf passes often.

There is a nice bakery just around the corner and there are several restaurants nearby. Schreckenskammer serves good Kölsch and good food, and Bosporus is a very, very good Turkish restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casteau
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This Hotel is in a good location for seeing Köln, the Hotel has secured parking, a nice fitness center, and the rooms are clean and quite spacious! Plus, the price is very fair and the receptionists are very helpful and friendly. Using Booking.com, found this wonderful Hotel in Köln. The rooms are exceptionally large, well organized, and absolutely clean. The fitness room was more than adequate too. Köln is a great city and this Hotel completes a nice visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

I had paid for 2 nights with Railbookers, staying at the Azimut. I handed in my voucher on arrival, stating that I had paid for a twin room with breakfast for 2 nights.After the first day our room key wouldn't work, and I was told this was because we had only paid for one night. At breakfast the 2nd day, we were not on the list, so I was a bit suspicious. I went to reception, to order a taxi for later, and a member of the reception team, on hearing "room 202", shot out of her office, and said I had not paid, and they had not been given the voucher. I said they defintely had, and I went to my room to get my confirmation letter, to prove it, emailing Railbookers, at the same time. They must have phoned immediately and sorted it out, good for them, but that woman in reception needs a lesson in customer treatment!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center

Address: 97, Hansaring, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AZIMUT Hotel Cologne City Center is the most convenient place for meetings, seminaries and other business and leisure events. Due to its unique architecture the hotel offers the most spacious hotel rooms of all 4 stars hotels in Cologne in three appealing categories. Located directly in the inner city of Cologne, the AZIMUT Hotel Cologne City Center additionally provides beside 190 spacious hotel rooms (partly with view to the famous World Heritage Site Cologne Cathedral), a modern restaurant, a hotel bar, on-site fitness room and sauna, a parking garage with 148 parking spaces (35 of them exclusively for hotel guests), Wi-Fi Internet access (free of charge in lobby and on first floor) and a perfect connection to the Cologne main station, event locations like the Lanxess Arena and fairground. The old town is reachable within only 10 minutes walking distance. Also all famous sights and the Rhine promenade are accessible on foot. Five fully equipped, modern and multifunctional meeting rooms all with daylight and air conditioning for up to 280 persons (at one go) set the perfect frame for successful meetings, seminaries and workshops. The banquet foyer has a capacity up to 100 persons. A young and dynamic meetings and events team offers professional business and meetings support as well as conference packages of one`s own choice to make any special occasion a guaranteed success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azimut Hotel Koln City Cologne
Azimut Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.