We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jaipur

Jaipur
Marzellenstrasse 50-56, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)
+49221137322
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 1,651 restaurants in Cologne
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have been to this restaurant many times over 10 years whilst in the city on business with colleagues. At first it was great but we all had a very bad experience on one occasion, food took over an hour to arrive and then it was cold and uncooked, also the service was terrible and there was a mouse running around inside. We all decided to avoid the place like the plague for a few years but decided last year to give it a try again, this wasn't bad but it wasn't great. Anyway we went again recently and it was the worst experience I have ever encountered, we were served warm beer, waited an hour for the food to arrive, only to find this was our main course, they had missed the starter out altogether, the main course was left on the table for a further 10-15 minutes under a tea light whilst they provided the starters, these arrived partially cooked, after this we ate our main course which was now cold after being left on the table for 15-20 minutes. The staff laughed out loud when they delivered the starters and didn't appear bothered at all. If we were at home we would have refused to pay as it was that bad. If you're reading this do yourself a favour and avoid this place. We will never be going again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    16
    28
    11
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

An excellent and authentic Indian restaurant in heart of Cologne. Favor the garden seating area if you get a chance to. The cuisine is truely excellent and authentic. The service had a tendency of being almost too attentive with several waiters asking to reorder drinks, etc. only a minute apart.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food and beautiful design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The dishes were very tasty and the place is very beautiful.I recommend Chicken Tikka Masala and Aloo Gobi.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Great Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The food is of a very good quality versus price. High level of service and inside and out, seating areas. I would go again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Bad Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Good Food but bad service. Food served was good and tasted Indian. They had good choice in their menu. Interiors look rich with lot of antique from Rajastan. Even thought the chef was smiling and attentive to customers, waiters looked rude. Seen one waiter fighting with one old customer in another table. Even one of my friend had bad experience with the waiter there. But we opted for this hotel because of good food. With some training to their staff, Jaipur can become one of the best Indian restaurants in Cologne.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaipur also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Jaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.