We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toscanini

Toscanini
Jakobstrasse 22, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Süd)
0221 / 310 99 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 1,729 Restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Süd
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have been going to Toscanini for years now and can really recommend it. For the pizza. Service wise it really depends on where you are sitting. In the main room: Great service. Back room: We call it the cave. Dark and too warm, slow service. Rumor has it that the owner keeps the tips. All this in mind I still recommend this pizzeria to anyone (including friends and family) looking for a great pizza.

PS: Make a reservation, as early as possible.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

You moght be tempted to expect more.. if you read the earlier reviews... but toscanini is a very nice neighorhood cafe that serves good pizzas at great prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“good italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went here for a dinner in december. We liked it, but cuisine is german-italian, plates are decent and well made, but you can feel that they miss some kind of italian twist or geniality according to me.

If you go and eat italian, you should be able to order italian-style.
I ordered antipasta, than a pasta and than a meat dish. I was full after the antipasta... If you are an italian resaturant, you should bear in mind the italian way of living.

And above that, none of the plates whowed me...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Probably the biggest pizza in Cologne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The pizzas at the Toscanini are very big, quite good overall. You can ask to have two different "half pizza". If you can't choose between two, you can order half of each !

Don't even try to go there without a reservation. You won't get a table. Even with a late reservation, you had to wait 15 minutes.

Service was quick but the waitress removed our plates right after we finished eating, which I found a bit rude.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“good italian food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

good italian food...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Toscanini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscanini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.