We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scampino

Scampino
Deutz-Mulheimer Strasse 199, 51063 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Mülheim)
0221 / 61 85 44
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 1,797 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mülheim
Lahr, Germany
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Good place for fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Quite popular Italian restaurant close to river Rhine. Good varieties of fresh fish available. Relative creative dishes, for me a bit too much adapted to what Germans think it's Italian food. Good wine list. Overall very recommendable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a wonderful mediterranean-style fish restaurant which I would certainly recommend trying to visit. It is a little way out of the centre. Both the menu of fresh fish and seafood (which varies day by day) and the wine list are extensive. My Octopus in olive oil anddrenched in garlic was exquisite. A great restaurant ifor a casual night out with friends. The bare wooden tables are large and so give the feeling of plenty of room and the acoustics are good so it is easy to have a normal conversation without having to shout or strain to hear what someone is saying. This is good as the restaurant does get busy as the evening progresses. There were so many things on the menu that I would like to try so I will definitely return the next time I will visit Cologne.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nothing to dislike, an excellent seafood restaurant, which also caters for the confirmed carnivore!
I have to type at least fifty characters to submit this review!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“how can you have 20 Fish specials in a land locked location?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The title says it all, not fresh... the menu is almost overwhelming!
I am lucky to travel a lot for work, and really do enjoy fish, but one lesson to learn is that a fish restaurant should keep it simple, and having 20+ fish options means one thing... frozen.

Sadly my assumptions (never a good thing i know) where spot on, calamari was rubber, and the main could honestly have been any overcooked white fish out there. Bland and tasteless.

Service was fine, but not at all up to expectations.
Overall a pity.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently visited this restaurant at probably one of the busiest times of the year in Cologne. Having worked in the hospitality industry for 15 years and in well regarded establishments not greasy spoons may I add, I guess I am harder to please than your average Joe. During busy periods one can accept and appreciate how hard they are trying to keep everyone happy but this definitely wasn't the case on this particular visit and unfortunately I personally did not feel the food completely made up for such poor service and so I would not visit again. I felt the tables were so cramped together that you were having an intimate meal with the couple next to you. I agree if you love fish this may be the place for you but if like me, you appreciate good service as well as food may be look elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scampino also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Scampino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scampino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.