We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Bonn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Bonn Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Bonn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berliner Freiheit 2, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to discover on checking in that the rate my travel company had booked for me (200€/night) did not include breakfast or internet. This cost me an additonal 55€/night which I consider outrageous.
In addition, there was a bad stale smell in the bathroom which was quickly removed when I rinsed down the toilet area myself using the shower hose.
my soap bar and tea was not replaced for night 2 which was also a bit cheap... On checkout, no one asked whether I was happy with my stay so they did not receive any feedback.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBonn, Administration Executive at Hilton Bonn Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear "Michelle M",

thank you for your review of your last stay at the Hilton Bonn here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences with us.

We deeply regret that your stay at our property did not met your expectations and was not to your fullest satisfaction. We are sorry for the inconveniences in the bathroom. Please be assured, that this is not our standard and that we forwarded your comments directly to our Executive Housekeeper to avoid situations like that in the future.
Also, please excuse the unsatisfied check out at the reception. We already shared your words with our Front Office Manager who will discuss this issue with the team.

Dear "Michelle M", unfortunately we cannot turn back time but we would be more than happy to welcome you back at the Hilton Bonn to prove that we can be a better host. Please let us know, if we can be of any assistance in the mean time.

Kind regards
HILTON BONN

Sarah Hünerbein
Administration Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    198
    68
    29
    9
See reviews for
41
155
54
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the Hilton Bonn. Very good location with rooms and service up to the Hilton standard. In addition we had a very good deal , it was a special offer and we could stay one night for about 120 euro including breakfast for two.
The hotel has also a good garage and even at a price twice as much as we paid it is still worth the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBonn, Guest Relations Executive at Hilton Bonn Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear ”Ros N”,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Bonn as your destination hotel for your last trip to Bonn. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments with us on TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure to see that you felt very comfortable during your stay. We would like to thank you for the great ratings about your stay in our hotel.

Dear “Ros N”, we hope you had a pleasant journey back home. We are delighted to welcoming you back soon and if there is anything else we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.

Kind regards
HILTON BONN

Lisa Scholz
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed for four nights at a rate of 200 euro/night, almost twice of what neighboring hotels (non-american chains) charge. The accommodations were very comfortable, but it's difficult to justify the price with such availability in the neighborhood. Internet is also very expensive at 20 Euros/day. While my experience was good, I think it was very overpriced and I will try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

superb location a short walk from city centre. all staff excellent and went out of their way to be helpful and made our stay a pleasure. we asked for a quiet room as some are on a busy road and this was sorted with no problem. overall an excellent hotel well up to Hilton standards

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBonn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Bonn Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear "David R",

first of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to let us have your impression of your last stay in the Hilton Bonn.

We are happy to read that your stay with us was to your fullest satisfaction. It's nice to know that you felt comfortable and that the perfect location and staff met your expectations.

We would be happy to welcome you back soon. Please let us know, if we can be of any assistance in the mean time.

Kind regards
HILTON BONN

Lisa Scholz
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hilton Bonn charges 215 EUR for a double bed room "single occupation" with two single beds, king size bed was not available. The internet charge is 20EUR per 24 hours.

Despite the fact that the hotel is quite good located at the Rhein River this does not justify this extraordinary high pricing. We talking about around 300 USD incl. Internet for a single room. In SEA I get a suite for this in a 4 or 5 star facility.

The rooms are spacious and the furniture is from good quality even if the design is dated.

No toothbrush or razor kit is provided ( and this for 215 EUR a night !!! ), another example of lack in hospitality service in Germany.

The staff is well trained, but thats all. The breakfast i can not comment on as I was writing the review before enjoying it, but I guess it will be good for German standards, but comparing to 4 or 5 star facilities in SEA a no go.

Bar food ( burger ) is nothing special, fries are not real hot, no salad, overpriced as well. Better to go to the Thai restaurant opposite the hotel.

I will not return and will keep on searching a more reasonable priced place in bonn and around ( If I have to come back to this town )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBonn, Adminsitration Executive at Hilton Bonn Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear "slonik_on_tour",

Thank you indeed for your review here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback with us and let us have the impressions about your visit at the Hilton Bonn.

We deeply regret that your stay at the Hilton Bonn was not to your fullest satisfaction and did not meet your expectations. We took your comments very serious and have read them carefully.
Please be informed that we have free pc workstations with printers in our business center and that our lobby and restaurants provide free internet for our guests to use. Also, we offer guest amenities e.g. toothbrush and razor for free for our guest on request.

Dear “slonik_on_tour”, despite your comment of not returning, we would be more than happy to welcome you back at the Hilton Bonn for your next stay in Bonn. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in the meantime.

Sincerely,
HILTON BONN


Sarah Huenerbein
Administration Executive
Hilton Bonn & Hilton Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hilton Bonn is a very good hotel to stay. I usually prefer to stay in other hotel chains, but the Hilton in Bonn lived up to my expectations. The quality of the rooms was good and I enjoyed a very relaxing sleep, which is very important to me. The rest of the facilities were good as well and I would stay here again in the future !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel became to Hilton family lately. But is a Hilton for sure. In a quite neighborhood You can feel Hilton air, for the very fist moment there. Breakfast is excellent and dinne, is also perfect. Good stuff, gives you the stability that you need. You feel home, as the rooms, are friendly and comfortable, even for disabled people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Bonn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bonn Hotel

Address: Berliner Freiheit 2, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
#3 Business Hotel in Bonn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bonn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Rhine, the Hilton Bonn hotel is situated in the heart of Bonn’s city center, close to both businesses and tourist attractions. Guests will find this Bonn hotel the ideal location for trip to the cosmopolitan German city. Take a leisurely walk along the riverside and explore historical and contemporary attractions. Enjoy a Terrace brunch or breakfast with stunning views of the River Rhine. With a fitness center, pool, sauna and choice of Mediterranean dining at L’Olivia restaurant, international dining from Seasons, and relaxed drinks at the contemporary Kennedy Bar, guests can enjoy more than a peaceful night’s sleep in this Bonn hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Bonn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Bonn
Hilton Bonn
Bonn Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Bonn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.