We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, otherwise average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brauhaus Joh. Albrecht

Brauhaus Joh. Albrecht
Hagenbruchstrasse 8, 33602 Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
0521 - 62 35 1
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 312 Restaurants in Bielefeld
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good beer, otherwise average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was a small brewery with a restaurant. The beers I sampled were very good. The food was very average and the service was good enough. I was there on a Sunday evening, and it was not very busy. I'd be happy to eat and drink here again, but I wouldn't go out of my way to do it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    14
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional, well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Brauhaus is really one of those places in Bielefeld you should visit if touring the area. Serving a good variety of their own beer, being a micro-brewery, it is also an excellent place to sample some hearty food.
Despite getting busy on a Friday and Saturday night you will normally find a good table anytime, especially outside in their courtyard (which is a good sun trap), and soak in the atmosphere. Every now and then they do a seasonal beer which is great when mixed with their staples of Haxe (pork knuckle) and Schnitzel (pork steak) but the vast majority of the food is good and great value for money.
If in Bielefeld pay the Brauhaus a visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Uncooperative service and no sauce”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went to Brauhaus for an evening out in group of about 30. The tables were booked and reserved. Upon arrival, the staff advised that the menu was shortened. They said that there too many customers in this party for providing a full choice - despite booking the table on time. Also, an English menu was not available (only the standard menu is available in English) - despite booking on time. After a number of visits to the place (not my choice though), I know their menu quite well. I tried to order a Brezel and cream cheese. The brezel would have been fine. However, my choice of cream cheese was denied because it was too complicated and not part of the reduced menu. Thus, I went for Schnitzel. Funny enough, the Schnitzel was served with the same salad that would have accompanied the cream cheese (so the problem is to throw cream cheese on the salad, really?). Less funny was that the Schnitzel and chips were served without sauce, condiment (ketchup, brown sauce, mayonnaise) and nothing along these lines was offered after asking for this. The food that was actually present was good in quality and quantity. However, the absence of sauce/gravy, cheese, condiment and the slightest idea of customer service was a real problem. Especially, the customer service was unfriendly and unhelpful. I am sorry to say, this is the usual pattern.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The restaurant is very nice, with its wooden rooms. The beer was OK, and the food good, in extremely large portions! I had a Schnitzel, and actually there were two of them, and not small...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Steamy hot, slow service but lashings of pork shanks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Tuesday night "Aktion" (special deal), eat as much as you can of huge pork shanks and go back for more and more. Portions gynormous which didn't stop 4 game lumberjacks (we assumed) on the next table who each managed 3! Unbelievable. Busy busy and v noisy, not a romantic rendezvous - we sat upstairs at the wooden benches and enjoyed our pork, steaks and schnitxzel. Only edible green thing was cucumber. Not the the faint hearted, reasonable prices, does the job if you are hungry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brauhaus Joh. Albrecht also viewed

Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Brauhaus Joh. Albrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brauhaus Joh. Albrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.