We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay except for the cockroach” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peterstrasse 1, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Aachen
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Okay except for the cockroach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A very healthy cockroach greeted me this morning by running over the bathroom mirror while I was brushing my teeth.. I brought it down to the reception and they didn't look very surprised or like it was a big deal.

Wifi kicks you out after a few minutes of inactivity which is painful, but not a showstopper.

Breakfast was ok, but I'm happy I didn't think about the state of the kitchen while I had it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    182
    61
    15
    7
See reviews for
38
149
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ILKLEY
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had difficulty finding the small sign & if you are caught up in the Aachen traffic & one way system it's quite hard. It's even harder when directed to the pay car park via a road which was blocked with roadworks which the reception didn't know about.
The room was adequate but small. The breakfast was excellent. If you want to be near the Cathedral, Old Town & Rathaus (unbombed Aachen) then this is well located.
Not so expensive so overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated for seeing the cathedral and the old town. Despite its central location, the very good double-glazing keeps outside noise to the minimum. We had opted for a superior room with either balcony or bath. As the weather was freezing, we were fortunate to get the latter. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. There are, however, some minuses. Firstly, parking is not convenient - a very shabby multi-storey five minutes walk away was not my ideal choice. Secondly, for the price, I would have expected free wi-fi. The staff were efficient, but not overly welcoming. We didn't have breakfast, so I am unable to comment. the complimentary minibar was welcome, but hardly lavish. All in all, a pleasant one night stay and an above average city centre hotel, but with drawbacks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The location in the very center of Aachen is optimal for visiting the city. All sights and the university are within walking distance. Despite of the location, the rooms are quiet and add to the sleep quality.

My room was carpeted. It should be cleaned more frequently in a 4 star than it was the case for my room. Apart from that the rooms are clean as one would expect.

Officially, the hotel offers Internet access, but it is a total rip off. Almost all bars and cafés near the hotel offer free Wifi and even the telecom stores next door offer cheaper 3G connections. As I expect Internet access to be a basic service in a 4 star hotel (such as having blankets on the bed) this is unacceptable.

The same goes for the breakfast. The breakfast menu was standard and offered nothing fancy. Therefore, I couldn't explain the extra price of 15€ per person, if you get pretty much the same in one of the nearby cafés for 5-10€ (you gain also better coffee).

Overall, you won't get anything fancy for the price tag. In Europe I have seen far better Hotels in the category, as well as a few worse, so I rate it in the middle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay! Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooting, London, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night in one of the rooms on the 6th floor at the back. The room was quite small and was next to the lift but we had no noise from that at all, but you could hear sounds from televisions from other rooms in the night. A part from that it was a very nice stay and the Staff we came in contact with were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is centrally located and so near to everything such as shops, restaurants, bars and sights.
Both the room and the bathroom was very clean, but the bed was very very low and quite difficult to get up from + no free Wi-Fi.
But we would stay here again on our next visit to Aachen.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel if possible, as the hotel is situated on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Food was good and location was great but sadly that is best I can say. Street noise in the room all night. Toilet in room had not been flushed. Wi-Fi despite costing 9€ extra failed most of the time and you can only use on device. Great place if you do not need to sleep or work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom

Address: Peterstrasse 1, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
#5 Business Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Aachen am Dom, a 3 star hotel with 117 rooms, is the perfect base to discover this historic imperial city. Enjoy your stay in our unique, centrally located hotel. The hotel is only 500 m from the Cathedral with its treasure chamber, the townhall and the Elisenbrunnen fountain. Buffet breakfast is served from 6.30 a.m. to 10.30 a.m. at the Lounge 1858 restaurant. The hotel also features a meeting room for up to 30 people. Be spoiled with selected Grands Vins Mercure wines at the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Aachen Am Dom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.