We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very restful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peterstrasse 1, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Aachen
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great location, very restful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Within walking distance of all the major sights. Excellent restaurants close by. Rooms are small but well designed and very clean. Good tasty breakfast. Staff was helpful and efficient!

I was there on business but would be a great place for vacation as well.

Room Tip: Higher floors give better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    206
    70
    15
    8
See reviews for
42
165
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked a large room with bath, peignoirs, ... to have a relax stay at the hotel. When we arrived, they gave us a room with a shower instead of a bath . But we could switch to another room. There it was very cold and we didn't get any of the extra's that we paid for : peignoirs , We only saw it in the evening and it was too late to complain at the reception.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel is placed in very good location, in the center of city, close to Cathedral and generally close to many places. Good service, cleanliness, we've slept good. I can't say about food, as we didn't eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piraeus
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This hotel is situeted in the center of the city.The external wall of the rooms is from glass and you enjoy the view [of caurse,higher is better].We had rooms in 6th floor,more expensive,but we admired the sky and the roofs of the city.Director and the staff of the hotel,keep this invery good condition,obvious at the clients.Aachen is a very atmospheric city with a large old part.But the diamond is the Dom,maby in the first category of European big and rich churches.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I have stayed at the hotel before (in Summer this year) and was pretty impressed with the overall experience. Unfortunately, this has slightly deteriorated this time. The service is still outstanding and each employee we met was friendly, cheerful and willing to please. We tried the in-room breakfast which comes at no extra cost and it was excellent (and a pleasant alternative to the overcrowded breakfast room of which the hotel warned with notices in the elevator).
Big downside during this stay was the room though - we'd spent a bit more money to get one of the larger rooms, which is still nice - unfortunately, it was really cold throughout the stay - when we mentioned it, we got an electric heater for the bathroom - but for safety reasons we of course could not keep it on during the night, so the bathroom was freezing when you entered it in the morning. Same goes for the bedroom - despite the fact that the A/C was switched to 27 degrees, the room was still cold. I understand that the hotel might have issues with the temperature in these rooms, but we paid full price, so I think I am OK to expect full service.
During the last night, the cover of the bathroom ventilation dropped from the ceiling, of course waking us up, but more shocking than that was the dirt and dust that suddenly had become visible in the ventilation - that was not cleaned for ages.
All in all, I'd return for the location and for the staff - both is brilliant, but the "hardware" needs urgent attention.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom is located in the town centre and less than 5 mins wail from the Dom and the historic town hall. The Xmas market starts outside the front door of the hotel and stretchers up to the Town hall square. The hotel is modern,clean, good buffet breakfast, the staff give a service most other hotels would like to achieve. Would Recomend you try this hotel if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed there in summer and will definitely go back again. Spent a little bit more money for a privilege room and was happy we did - the rooms are nice size while the standard ones that we saw while walking the corridors were more on the smaller end - but all good value for money I would think. The room was well equipped with a TV that turns 180 degrees so you can watch it in the 'living' area of the room as well as when you are in bed. Very friendly service that managed also extra requests like pre-orders for flowers for my parents very well - they seemed to genuinely enjoy to help. The hotel is in a great location if you want to explore the city or if you have to drive into the outskirts of town. All in all, a very pleasant stay - will definitely return!

Room Tip: Spend the additional money for a privilege room - they don't come at a huge surcharge, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom

Address: Peterstrasse 1, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Aachen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Aachen am Dom, a 3 star hotel with 117 rooms, is the perfect base to discover this historic imperial city. Enjoy your stay in our unique, centrally located hotel. The hotel is only 500 m from the Cathedral with its treasure chamber, the townhall and the Elisenbrunnen fountain. Buffet breakfast is served from 6.30 a.m. to 10.30 a.m. at the Lounge 1858 restaurant. The hotel also features a meeting room for up to 30 people. Be spoiled with selected Grands Vins Mercure wines at the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Aachen Am Dom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.