We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got stolen ! The wallet dosappeared from the room room nr 413” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aquis Grana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aquis Grana to your Saves list
Hotel Aquis Grana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buchel 32 Buchkremerstrasse, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Aachen
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We got stolen ! The wallet dosappeared from the room room nr 413”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just for everyone to know...
Great hotel, great breakfast, great location...great room, great bed...UNTIL the moment we packed our lagguage.
The WALLET that was in my patrtner black bag, left all the time in the hotel room, was gone...
with it the drive licence and his id card that were inside.

Luckily, money, credit cards and pin pas were in my "lady" bag.
When we told the Receptioniste, she said:
" OOOH it had never happened before"...GOOD FOR you 4 stars hotel...most luckily because nobody leave his wallet in the room...
trusting would not be stolen...

I answered" It never happened to us also before either!".

We needed to go to the Aachen police, which spoke German...and barelly English.

This, without mentioning our weekend was ruined, because we spend 3/4 hours in doing all the necessary for the report to the police.

The taxi costs to go and come back from the police station, I have to ask back to the receptionist(in such case is the minumum they could voluntary offer) and after a while thinking, she gave me back this money.

Also, we noticed security is not the strongest quality if the hotel.
our id's were neither asked neither checked at chek in or check out: I could have been a terrorist whatsoever...

The lagguage, when we checked out, asking if we could leave the bags, was placed locked, in a room, but with no names or room nr. on it...so I could have picked up ANY lugguages in that deposit room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    56
    39
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
51
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Ideal location in the city center enables easy sightseeing by foot of the main attractions. The hotel offers a pleasant and functional atmosphere but without much opportunity to sit and relax other than in ones room. Rooms are reasonably sized, well equipped and clean. I missed radio stations/music and found the absence of a international razor socket in the bathroom unnecessarily irritating for tourists. The breakfast buffet and its variety was very good. Staff formal but helpful. No transfers other than by taxi.

Room Tip: My fourth floor faced north to street and market but was quiet despite May Day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a nice city Hotel, relatively small and with efficient service.

Its location is great, less than 1 minute walking from the Cathedral and the city hall.

Rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. It is more a very nice 3-star Hotel than a 4-star (room sizes, lacks some of the small things you get used to in 4-star Hotels) but still very good. Anyway the sleep quality is quite good, and nothing essential is missing.

The same applies to the lobby areas. The breakfast room, for instance, is on the smallish side but with a nice ambiance.

WiFi is paid (12 Euro per day) and of good quality. Room safes are large enough for most laptops. The choice of non-german TV channels is rather poor.

Overall I liked this Hotel and would choose it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weilerbach, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Modern, clean, well defined establishment sutible for the single tourist traveller or a business conference location within a few short blocks from ancient Roman ruins and the site of crowned kings. Many opportunities for shopping for high end up market to everyday mid to low range items, dining establishments, coffee houses and bakeries. PERFECT for all travellers. Small Pet friendly. Charges for WiFi apply. Several languages spoken.

Room Tip: Car Park Tower, with large spaces and roof top parking available across the street for 12 Euro per d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family has a tradition of going to Aachen for the annual Christmas market each December. After trying several hotels, we have settled on the Aquis Grana. It is reasonably priced and comfortable, though not particularly luxurious. You may wish to opt for a package with breakfast included: there is a generous and varied spread. The hotel does not have parking, but there is a public garage across the street that is not too expensive. The hotel is convenient to the old town and the meandering pedestrian zone, including such wonderful sights as the cathedral, treasury and city hall. There are numerous shops, cafes, restaurants, pubs and bakeries in the neighborhood. For more on this medieval town, check out: http://www.q4tk.com/2013/01/06/aachen-a-medieval-gem/ .

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

All in all, the hotel is located in the middle of the city and closed by Aachener Dom. The room is very clean and modern. Really satisfied. Only one small negative point for their staffs, it depends on persons, some of them are a bit unfriendly. Also, in some rooms (on the street side), they are noisy at night but you can ask to move the room. There was no problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soestdijk, Utrecht, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having booked an up-market 4-star hotel our expectations were high. Upon arrival we were welcomed in a dutiful manner, and I must say the term dutiful applies to most of the service in this hotel. Not in a positive way, that is. Staff is not eagerly helpful, and initiative lies completely with the guest.

We got a room on the 4th floor, reasonably sized and tidy at first sight. The room was clean, but not clean-clean: apparently the hotel's vacuum does not get into corners and wall crevices: here dirt had been building up for some time. The tile joints in our shower were packed with mildew: not necessary if given a proper scrub.

Because of it's location the hotel is quite noisy. Yet, it must be said the hotel lies in a central position and breakfast is quite reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aquis Grana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquis Grana

Address: Buchel 32 Buchkremerstrasse, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aquis Grana 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aquis Grana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Grana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aquis Grana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.