We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast at a nice place with friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of EB (Elisenbrunnen) Restaurant

EB (Elisenbrunnen) Restaurant
Friedrich-Wilhelm-Platz 14, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
+49 241 94313490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 426 Restaurants in Aachen
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy classically and professionally interpreted German gastronomic specialities. The EB is the successful mixture of a modern inn, a restaurant, a cafe and a communicational site for the young and the young at heart.
Maastricht
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast at a nice place with friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We go there quite regulary, its situated in the middle of the centre of Aachen. They have nice vegetarian dishes as well and really nice fresh orange juice. I don't like the cappu that much (a bit 'sharp') but the fresh mint tea is lovely. They also have a nice and large terrace. During summer you can enjoy watching people while having breakfast/lunch/wine break ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    30
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pecetto Torinese, Italy
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quite nice but crowded and noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Location is fantastic, very central and you can easily have a sit by the window. There were a lot of Christmas parties all around then communication was very hard, since the noise was crazy. Quality of the food was acceptable, but wine list was low profile.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent find, both elegant and traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We happened to be in Aachen for my birthday. After a full day of wondering in the beautiful town, a local we have met there asked us whether we had any plans for dinner and she recommended us a nice traditional German restaurant – Elisenbrunnen, helpfully showing us its location. We came here and we had a fantastic time. The place blends elegant design with traditional German food, so it was in the same time suited for a special celebration and perfect to taste the very good authentic German food. The place was not crowded, the service was perfect and very friendly and food was exquisite. A perfect ending for that special day and a great memory from Aachen. Definitely a restaurant not to miss in Aachen !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not a bad restaurant, very modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were staying in the area as part of a tour group and this is the restaurant that was booked for our saturday night meal.
It is not the sort of restaurant that I would normally eat in, I prefer something a little less modern and off the beaten track.
However, the food was good (but a little pricey) and there was a very helpful waiter that could recommend drinks.

Most of the staff speak English, which made the experience a lot easier for those of us with very rusty German language skills!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and service, but a major rip off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I quite like fine dining, but unfortunately don't always have the funds to enjoy such luxuries. On the off chance that I had saved up enough, I chose to visit EB. The food was good and the service was quick, but they will not hesitate to rip off foreigners. I'm guessing the waiter could sense that I was struggling a little with my German, and chose this opportunity to serve us something more expensive than what we ordered, then proceeded to charge us drinks we didn't even order. Beware the "service charge" as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EB (Elisenbrunnen) Restaurant also viewed

Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to EB (Elisenbrunnen) Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EB (Elisenbrunnen) Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.