We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No aircon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niederlandischer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Niederlandischer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Niederlandischer Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alexandrinenstrasse 12-13, 19055 Schwerin, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Schwerin
Oxford
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“No aircon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place exsudes some British style and décor. It is beautifully located in the centre of town (Schwerin is a small place)- right at Pfaffen- lake. Each room is individually and tastefully decorated. Alas- do not expect luxury. It meets 3 star criteria. What a pitty the service cannot keep up. It managed to retain a bit of post cold war charme with guests' remarks continously being misinterpreted as unwelcome interruptions to staff' 'private' time. For example:
It can get pretty hot in summer in Germany. What a pity the staff did not seem what our question about rooms with aircon meant. Luckily, we had a Dyson fan in our car- otherwise it would have been unbereably hot. What a pitty the hotel could not offer a fan. We did not feel welcome after asking all these questions and causing all this 'trouble'. There is zero flexibility in the former East. 'No' is 'no' and will stay that way. Zero communication skills of staff. Take it or leave it- a very outdated concept of customer relations... Shame.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
27
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is wonderful and is set in a most outstanding location near the water front. The hotel is clean and the staff are ok... however, the front desk staff lack the ability to communicate and welcome you as you might expect... we arrived with several heavy bags and we were simply handed the key to our room and no assistance was given although the lift was out of order at the time of our visit. The breakfast was great in a atmospheric room playing British 30s/40's music. We had one meal which was in my opinion expensive (£100 for two) and unfortuatly spoilt for me by too much spice and pepper sauce. Otherwise it was great and I would stay there again but next time prepared for the things I disliked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

At only 200m from the railway station and on the waterfront with view of the castle and the opera house, this hotel is situated in a perfect location. Rooms are old fashioned, but extremely comfortable and large. Service was outstanding

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the lake. Road in front is not overly busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Our four night stay in Schwerin was totally enhanced by our stay in Hotel Niederländischer Hof. The room was excellent, lots of room, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The staff were fantastic, very helpful especially to their nonGerman speaking guests. The food, both at breakfast an dinner, we dined there twice as we enjoyed it so much the first night, was of high quality. The location was good, a 20 minute walk to the castle, shorter walk to the Dom and shops. The hotel provides parking. The only problem was with their wifi connection, which was complimentary. We cold not access in our room and had to sit in the bar or foyer, which was ok, but could have been better and faster. A great place to stay.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had two excellent nights at the Niederlaendischer Hof in October. This is one lovely old hotel, lovingly maintained. Staff members are outstanding. They seem genuinely proud of their hotel and are eager that you should enjoy your stay here. I had asked for a single room, but was given a double (Room 421 can be seen on the hotel's website). It was all done in a North Sea beach/nautical theme. There was even a beach loveseat where you could sit and look out the window at the Pfaffenteich. The shore theme was carried into the modern, state-of-the-art bathroom. There was even a ship's porthole looking into the bathroom where you could do an "Ahoy, Matey!" to your wife when she's in there. How thoughtful is that? Although I've certainly seen more sumptuous breakfasts in Germany, it was just fine here. The hotel is only a five minute walk from the Hauptbahhof. All in all, an attractive accommodation in an attractive city. There is one caveat, however. A few rooms--mine included--are inaccessible by lift. This means you take the lift up one floor and walk up the next.

Room Tip: If you have accessibility issues, let them be known when you book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved my first stay at this lovely little hotel. While the hotel's exterior is not that attractive and the view from the parking place in the back sent chills down my spine for fear of a major mistake with three VIP clients used to five star luxury, once inside the small but sumptious lobby all qualms were erased. Such lovely decor, like an English manor. Huge rooms especially double 303 and smaller but equally great doubles 302 and 202. Huge king beds, big bathrooms, a clunky elevator but you cannot have your cake and eat it too! Speaking of eating, the restaurant is top notch but at the same time reasonable in cost. Excellent entree selection and wine list small but well chosen. I loved my quiet tine in the late afternoon in the cozy bar and adjacent library. I will not hesitate in bringing more of my top level clients here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a great hotel choice in Scherwin. It is quite convenient to the train station in a lovely location along the lake. The rooms are traditional and comfortable as is the lobby. The only small problem we had with our room is that the lamp shades are not made for people who like to read in bed--the light is directed down and is very hard to direct onto your book. Our bathroom was large and well appointed. Service was very good. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. A computer is available free of charge in the lobby. The bar just off the lobby is very comfortable. We were even given a voucher for a complimentary sherry which we very much enjoyed. We did not have breakfast provided in our room rate and found the charge for the full breakfast a bit too high. We wished that they had had a continental breakfast as an option. Instead, we just ate at a local coffee shop.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Niederlandischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niederlandischer Hof

Address: Alexandrinenstrasse 12-13, 19055 Schwerin, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Schwerin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Schwerin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niederlandischer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Niederlandischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Niederlandischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.