We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Schwerin Altstadt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Schwerin Altstadt to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Schwerin Altstadt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Klosterstr. 28, 19053 Schwerin, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Schwerin
Fredrikstad, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have stayed in Mercure in many cities and it usually gives good value for money. So was also the case for Mercure in the old city of Schwerin. The hotel is not anything special from the outside, but the rooms and the interior is new and fresh. Friendly staff. There is only one problem - and that is lack of air-conditioning which leave you no other choice than to sleep with the windows open on hot nights. Why build a new hotel without aircon? The hotel is perfectly located in the city centre but has no specific parking for your car. But if you park in the nearby public car park house, you can pay the parking in the hotel and it´s only 5 euros pr day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    56
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
55
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It was a good standard hotel - clean, well fitted out, with helpful staff. It was perhaps not quite up the standard of some Mercures, but still very good. We didn't eat breakfast or dinner at the hotel, so can't comment on the food. The hotel location is excellent - very close to the old town areas and the magnificent Schwerin Schloss. We travelled to and from Schwerin by train and the hotel is about 1km from the station - just ok to walk dragging luggage. Overall a good hotel in an excellent location. Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
476 reviews 476 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Most Mercure Hotels are that little bit special.This one is a typical city Hotel,a bit worn.
Not the most exciting Reception experiences.
The first thing is to attract the attention of the staff in their janitor style poky reception.Pleasant staff but not got that sparkle.
When we later asked for the Wi fi info we were warned not to Skype or watch films.Never been given restrictions or orders before on the use of Wi fi.
And yes the Wi fi is poor.
Room clean but a bit worn.Great location in the Old Town.

Room Tip: Book early for best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My fiance and I stayed here on a work trip to Germany. We visited Schwerin as a side trip. It is a beautiful town with a fantastic castle.

The hotel Mercure here was great - very comfortable beds, nice staff who spoke English (very helpful since we knew very little German!), WiFi, great location right next to the main shopping area and close to the castle and one of the lakes...the staff even locked our bags up after we checked out so we didn't have to lug them around town with us as we fit in some sight seeing before our train back to Hamburg. The castle was undergoing some renovations when we were there, but still a great thing to visit. And, the hotel is near a church that you can climb to the top of (up a very winding, small staircase!). Great views of the whole city, castle, lakes, etc. can be had up there.

The walk from the train to the hotel is not bad at all - it is, however, mainly cobblestones. So, rolling bags make a lot of noise, which is somewhat embarrassing! I am sure you could take a taxi if you wanted to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good courteous staff. Room clean and well equipped. Didn't try TV as had ipad with me and good Internet in the hotel.
My mistake was getting off the train late at night at Schwerin Mittel. No taxis but just a 15 minute walk with cases in the snow.
Good breakfast. Excellent shower. In the middle of town but quiet. I had a good view of the city. They had some sort of Internet for guests in the bat but I didn't try it.
Easy to book. I stayed at 4 Mercure hotels in Germany this week and this was the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Schwerin, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Hotel Schwerin Altstadt, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will forward your kind words to all of our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Location very good, it was central . Perfect breakfast everything you can wish. Very nice service from the staff. Cleaning in the room could be a little bit better. The parking in the very nearby garage was perfect and very cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel proudly boasts that it was built in 2009 to fit in seamlessly with the local surroundings.

I agree that it does fit well, but perhaps, just perhaps they could have invested in a little 21st century technology and installed air-conditioning.

Let’s start with the positives
It’s in a fantastic location in the city centre, close to the castle, the boat tours of the lakes and the main museums
It’s staffed by very friendly and helpful people
The breakfasts are excellent
The cleanliness of the rooms and the facilities cannot be faulted

However,
The rooms, on a summers day, are simply too hot. Windows can be opened, but as the hotel is in the city centre this creates a lot of noise, and, as I discovered, brings in a fair collection of mosquitoes from the surrounding lakes.

If the weather had not been swelteringly hot (mid 30s, but with oppressive humidity) the room would probably have been very comfortable, but on one night I couldn’t sleep at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Schwerin Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Schwerin Altstadt

Address: Klosterstr. 28, 19053 Schwerin, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Schwerin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Schwerin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Schwerin Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly located in the heart of the city centre and within walking distance to railway station, shopping area, castle and museum. 47 modern rooms in 2 old historic buildings with restaurant, bar and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Schwerin Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Schwerin Altstadt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.