We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat this for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterCity Hotel Rostock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterCity Hotel Rostock to your Saves list
InterCity Hotel Rostock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herweghstrasse 51 | 18055 Rostock, 18055 Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Rostock
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Can't beat this for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were staying in Rostock for an extended weekend and decided to go with the Intercity Hotel, located right next to the central station and with local, public transport included in the price. As we were planning on doing some shopping in the centre combined with two train trips to Güstrow and Warnemünde respectively, this was a perfect choice.
The staff in reception were very friendly and smiling and quickly checked us in to our room. Our room was on the front side of the hotel (the back faces directly out to the railroad tracks and station platforms. But since the windows are well insulated it really doen't matter which side you get a room on. The rooms are fairly small, but I have stayed in much smaller rooms, so all in all they are not too bad. The room we got was very clean and the bathroom also appeared spotless.
The temperature and bed were good and the TV had a selection of German and international TV channels. The cost of the room, which included free travel on public transport, was very reasonable.
All in all I can recommend this hotel to others who visit the city without a car, and maybe also with. I will probably visit again in the future as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
21
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night before taking the ferry to Trelleborg. No parking place of their own, you must be lucky to find one across the street where you do not have to pay for it. Verry small rooms, very small bathroom. Reception functioning throughout the night, they allow pets. Too expensive for what they offer but if you have no other choice...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during a week, due to the conference I was attending organized there. For the rate paid, I can honestly say this was good value for money, at no frill as other reviewers said. No surprise: excellent breakfast (but so-so for the other meals and in particular for room-service), good rooms (bit small though acceptable for one person), minimum customer service (with typical lack of flexibility). It is located near the main station, but trains are not running after hours, so no noise issues; every guests is provided with a free day ticket for all Rostock public transport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Upon entering the room of the InterCity hotel in Rostock I was immediately reminded of a typical refurbished Motel 6 in the USA: comparable in size, no-frills, light and functional furniture, overall cleanliness. So this would be o.k. with me, were it not for the room rate, which was more than double of that of an average Motel 6. Different from the latter, there was no cheerfully colored bedspread, but just one white folded duvet, and only ONE small and ONE large towel, but no facecloth. Nor was there any A/C either.
On the plus-side:
- plenty of electrical outlets for all your technical equipment (no need to dive under a table and/or unplug a lamp)
- sound proof windows: no street noise audible
- good black-out curtains
- a day’s ticket for public transportation (ca 6$ worth) included
- the room had a minibar: not complimentary, but if you place those bottles outside, there is room for some personal perishable food items of your own.

On the minus-side:
- even though you pay about 130$/night, wi-fi is NOT included, and is available only at a rather hefty fee
- breakfast is not included in the rate either.

The location is a plus and a minus:
There are two trainlines in the adjacent „Rostock Hauptbahnhof“ station that take you into the city center, + the regional train which runs about every 15 minutes between Rostock and the seaside resort of Warnemünde; travel time ca 20 minutes.
There is, however, nothing of interest within walking distance, as it is in a residential area; so you are not „in the middle of it all“.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had to drive six hours to find a hotel. And we could not find a good hotel in; Khulingsborn. Heiligendamm. Bad Doberan. We were very disappointed and tired. When we arrived in Rostock we immediately found the hotel ibis. We were so happy but when we looked like we could check in but there was unfortunately no more.

We then went to the Hotel Tour in Rostock. And once we found the hotel InterCityHotel Rostock'''' we were so glad we finally found a good hotel. After quickly have parked outside the hotel we valuables removed. Checked in and sleep. We slept perfectly. After we have eaten my mother wanted a hotel. We enjoyed tea and there was a wide range of food. Also, the hotel staff were very friendly. You were treat like a king. If we again overnight in Rostock we will definitely be watching.

Room Tip: Choose the best room! Otherwise you will get an terrible shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel.We have stayed in Rostock many times at different hotels,of a higher standard and more central.But the main reason we stay at this hotel and will continue to do so is that you get free local travel on the trains,buses and trams included in the price and the hotel is just outside the train station,which is ideal for us as we use the train every day.
The rooms are small but clean with your basic neccessities similar to Premier Inn Travelodge.The beds are very comortable.No air con and you will need your own toiletries.We asked for a quiet room which we got both times even though it is right by the railway track.
Breakfast is excellent,so much choice in a very nice restaurant
All the staff are friendly and very helpful

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if you want one.you will get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peasmoldtown
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a nice hotel with comfortable, well-appointed rooms plus an excellent breakfast buffet, and is surprisingly quiet, given its location just beside Rostock's main railway station, which is also very convenient. I was well satisfied with all aspects of service during my stay of 4 nights. The prices seem reasonable for this type of hotel, although possibly a bit high for the region. One word of warning, however. If booking using the hotel's discounted pre-pay option, which gives you a 15% saving over the normal price, be aware that the maximum refund in the event of cancellation is only 10% of what you paid. I would suggest to compare carefully with other chains offering pre-paid discounted rates, since mostly they operate a far more congenial cancellation policy, or at least waive it for repeat customers. But for this practice, which mars greatly my impression of the hotel and its staff, I would have given a higher rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterCity Hotel Rostock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCity Hotel Rostock

Address: Herweghstrasse 51 | 18055 Rostock, 18055 Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rostock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Rostock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — InterCity Hotel Rostock 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team of the InterCityHotel Rostock looks forward to your visit. Our hotel is located only a few minutes on foot from the city centre, next to the main station. The motorway and Rostock harbour are also within easy reach of our InterCityHotel. Rostock has something to offer for every taste. For those interested in culture there is the historic old city centre with its impressive red brick gothic buildings, the theatre and concerts. Nature lovers might like to discover the attractive Baltic Sea landscape of the coastal resort of Warnemunde. Profit as a guest from the FreeCityTicket for Rostock and Warnemunde included in the price of your room which we place at your disposal for the whole of your stay in Rostock. The hotel in Rostock has 174 comfortably furnished rooms and 3 suites, a restaurant and a bar. Thanks to its favourable location, the InterCityHotel Rostock provides the perfect framework for your conference. 6 Air-conditioned, sound-proofed conference rooms with daylight illumination which, in part, can be combined with one another are available to accommodate up to 100 participants. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your InterCity Hotel Rostock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterCity Hotel Rostock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.