We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most interesting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankt Marien Kirche

Sankt Marien Kirche
Am Ziegenmarkt 04, 18055 Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
+49(0)381 4923396
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Rostock
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Gloucs UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Most interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited this church as part of a tour, and were most impressed. Very ornate inside, a gigantic organ with I believe some 5000 pipes (!), fine carvings and a wonderful astronomical clock are just a few of the arresting sights inside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely awesome old church (c 1230) with amazing carvings for the altar etc - well worth some of your time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
245 attraction reviews
Reviews in 256 cities Reviews in 256 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
“A superb astronomical clock.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We travelled here by train from Warnemunde.The cathedral does not look anything special from the outside, but it does have some gems inside. It is not majestic from the outside like many European cathedrals, and it does look a bit dull from the outside, being brick built rather than stone. But it does have some gems inside. The pipe organ is huge and way over the top for a church of this size. It has something like 5,200 pipes - it's enormous.

The star of the show here though is the superb and ancient astronomical clock, which is hidden behind the high alter and is easy to miss if you don't walk behind. It was built in 1472 by Hans Duringer and still works. It's a very large and remarkable example of the medieval clock makers skill. I could have watched it all day - so impressive.

Lots of other things to see - an ancient font, fine stained windows, a superb pulpit and an impressive high alter.

There is a small entrance fee, but it's well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ockenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Along the lines of your average cathedral”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I travelled here by train when my cruise ship stopped in Warnemude. (The purpose of the stop was to allow passengers to travel to Berlin, but stince we'd already been there, we chose to stay local.)

Rostock was pleasant to walk around in, and see. The rathaus was elaborate and the church was a sight to see, but nothing really stood out from other cathedrals in Europe, at least to me.

My recommendation, if you're in the area, take the time to see it, but don't make a special trip for it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Yep! A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This church of St Mary is a must see! A brick gothic Basilica with a wealth of historic arttractions. The high altar is carved painted wood,the organ still working from 1770,the unique astronomical clock still chiming out the hours and the ornate cast bronze Baptisimal font is magnificient. It narrowly escaped melting down for the German war effort.This is a must see!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sankt Marien Kirche also viewed

Warnemunde, Rostock
 
Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
 

Been to Sankt Marien Kirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankt Marien Kirche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.