We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find on the outskirts of Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kastanienhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kastanienhof to your Saves list
Hotel Kastanienhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Bahnhof 7 | Munich Airport, 85435 Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great find on the outskirts of Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Clean, comfortable, and well-priced. Easy access to the airport via bus or car. Terrific breakfast buffet! Hans (bartender) is a wealth of local knowledge and very personable. Desk staff is hit or miss. One is very helpful and friendly, the other can only be charachterized as being unhappy in general. Walking distance to Therme Erding - a definite plus!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
3
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, B.C.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This clean,quiet hotel with a very friendly staff is well located in relation to Munich Airport and the city. It can be reached by the S-Bahn from the RR. station Munich East or city centre. It takes about 20 min.,and costs 5.00 E, to reach the airport. The S-Bahn and Bus Station are about a 2 minute walk away from the hotel.My room faced an inner court filled with chestnut trees and was as quiet as can be. The breakfast offers about anything one could ask for and is constantly replenished. A five minute walk brings you to the centre of Erding,a pretty,typical Bavarian town with many good restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner court are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hotel was a beautiful place to stay. The rooms were wonderful, each with distinctive style. Every facility and comfort, very good size room and bathroom. Beautiful selection of pillows, if you suffer from neck problems try their special pillow for the best nights sleep. I am searching for one like it.
The food was one of the best meals one could get anyplace and the breakfast excellent.
The staff were helpful, if a little unfriendly. Make sure you return their adaptors if you borrow one. One of our party was accused of keeping one.
I did not have time to explore the area, but it looked very nice with lots of shops close by. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

When I lost my connection to Barcelona, Lufthansa sent me to this hotel before my new, early morning flight.

First of all, it's not really near Munich city centre or Munich airport, but a 15-20 minute car ride away from the latter -with no traffic- in Erding. The hotel is quite central, not far from the train station; and it's not new, but it's well maintained. My room was quite large, and had a balcony, no complains about it. I had free internet for a limited time, but I couldn't make it work; since I had to wake up so early, I gave up trying after a few tries.

All in all, I had quite a nice stay, but so short I never saw the building in daylight!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Single rooms are indeed pretty small. When we arrived there was an awfully strong smell of smoke everywhere, including in the room carpet. Staff is nice, but overall the location is really not interesting.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We thought we were "stuck" here because Munich hotels were either full or outrageously priced. What a pleasant surprise to find such a lovely little hotel tucked away in Erding -- a pleasant outer suburb of Munich. Conveniently located one minute from the train station, where you can ride the S2 street car line into downtown Munich (although it's a 45-minute ride to the center of town). But if you have the time or don't need to be in central Munich, this is a very good place to stay. The hotel is also a short walk from a pretty little park through which there are numerous walking/running paths and even an area with some animals and birds. It's a welcome green oasis.
Had a room on the second floor of the hotel that had a small balcony, which really made the room seem special. The room itself was what one expects in a smaller European hotel: reasonable to serve as sleeping quarters but not in any way spacious. Furnishings were nice and the bathroom was clean and tidy. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. I recommend this place and would stay there again without hesistation.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I unfortunately relied on other reviews only to find the reality very different. The bed was rock hard and the room was dirty (there was even an old newspaper under the desk.) The TV requires a paid connection for internet, and while the bar waitress was quite nice in agreeing to feed us at a rather late hour, the evening clerk was disinterested and unhelpful, telling is we would have to wait for the cleaning staff in the morning for soap that was missing, instead of merely getting some from a vacant unit. Since we were leaving before the arrival of the cleaning staff she was no help. The place is still a bit of a haul to the airport although the train runs out there to Erding and from there to the airport!

Even though the place was inexpensive I would go elsewhere for better quality lodging with more to do while you wait to go to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kastanienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastanienhof

Address: Am Bahnhof 7 | Munich Airport, 85435 Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 774 Hotels in Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kastanienhof 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Hotel Kastanienhof" in Erding - Munich Airport is a privately run hotel located only 5 minutes walking distance from the historic centre of Erding. With easy access to Munich International Airport (15 minutes by car) and to Munich International Trade Fairs app. 40 minutes by public transportation) we are ideally located for meetings and leisure.87 elegant, air-conditioned rooms and suites are located on 3 floors and offer attractive features. All rooms are equipped with comfortable bathrooms, hairdryer, airconditioning, safe, minibar, IP-TV with video on demand, telephone, internet access and working area with desk.Lunch and dinner is served in our restaurant or the Bistro-Bar with international and regional dishes, delicious snacks, a wide range of beers and whiskeys as well as wine & cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kastanienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kastanienhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.