We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, although far away from city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Hotel Hannover

MGM Hotel Hannover
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added MGM Hotel Hannover to your Saves list
MGM Hotel Hannover
Baumschulenallee 6, 30625 Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 163 Hotels in Hannover
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average hotel, although far away from city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. It is a bit far away from Hannover city center. You need to take the S-Bahn (a good 10 minutes walking to arrive to the station) or the tram which takes 15-20 minutes to reach the Hauptbahnof. Rooms are clean and simple. Breakfast was good, with a good choice of food.
I would not recommend if you are there for tourism.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Myself and a colleague stayed here whilst visiting the Euroblech. Where can I start to explain this "hotel". Firstly it is well out of the centre of Hannover, and there is absolutely nothing to do in the area after about 7.0pm.
The "hotel" claims to have a bar, it does but it is closed. The staff? what staff? I seen a recptionist when we arrived and a woman topping up the "breakfast buffet" in the morning.
The beds were tiny, with a quilt that was even smaller. The breakfast, a cold buffet was edible, but no more than that.
The room itself was clean and the shower was decent but those are the only positives I can give this "hostel"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

Taxi from the airport in about 30 min for 30 EUR. Location a bit outside of the center, but this is easily accessible by train in about 15 min (station is 3 - 5 min. walk from hotel). Hannover Medical School (where I attended a conference) within short walking distance.

Arriving after 10pm, I checked in "electronically" via video-screen at the entrance, using my password that was given to me whenn booking on the internet. This may look a little strange at first, but was a lot faster than waiting for a personal check-in. The staff (if they are on duty) were very friendly and helpful (thanks Holger Windhagen from the reception for his help).The room was larger than in most comparable priced hotels in Germany, and absolutely clean and quiet. Minibar with reasonable prices. No receptionist available during night and parts of the weekend - but they give you a phone# to call if necessary. Excellent continental breakfast included in my weekend rate of 60 EUR! In the rooms you have access to the T-mobile/Telekom hotspot - if you have subscribed to them - at no additional cost. Unfortunately they do not have a safe in the room (this is the only detail I would wish to be improved).

  • Liked — clean and quiet room; value for money
  • Disliked — no safe in room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

I stayed in Hannover for 3 nights in Mid-June 2007. My company booked me into the MGM Hotel as it was the closest to the MHH Hospital where I was attending a seminar. It's a small, but new, hotel with a very friendly staff. The rooms were clean and well kept and of a reasonable size. They include a good buffet breakfast in the morning (with long hours 6:30 - 10:00). The location was excellent for my purposes and was close enough (about 2 blocks) to the Tram line to be able to get downtown easily (they sell tickets at the reception desk, making it even easier). All the staff spoke English well.

The cons:
- Internet access is via a wireless service you will have to pay for on-line by giving out your credit card info, or by analog dial-up, if you have the right cable (I couln't figure out the european connection). There is an internet cafe right across from the tram stop halfway to downtown (Kantplatz stop) that charges 50 cents for 30 minutes.

- The weather at the time was hot and humid, and there was no air con in the rooms. This made sleeping difficult. You wouldn't want to open the groundfloor windows wide as they are easily accessible from outside creating a security risk. The windows do allow the tilt-open option, which is much more secure, but they don't allow much air circulation. Also with the windows open the sounds of the busy street nearby might keep light sleepers awake.

- Not much to do in the vicinity, but taking the tram downtown only takes about 10 - 15 minutes and the trams run frequently so this really isn't much of a negative point.

Extra points (neither good or bad, you decide):
- taxi to/from the airport is about 30 Euros and they don't take credit cards.
- very small bathrooms, equipped with a small shower stall.
- reception not staffed all night, but access to the hotel is controlled by key-card and there is number to call in case of trouble at night.

Overall I was happy with my stay here and would definitely stay here again if I was visiting the MHH hospital. I would consider staying here if my main purpose was to visit downtwon as it was easy to travel to and from there.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Hotel Hannover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Hotel Hannover

Address: Baumschulenallee 6, 30625 Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 163 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your MGM Hotel Hannover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Hotel Hannover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.