We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to see” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hannover City Hall (Rathaus)

Hannover City Hall (Rathaus)
Am Maschpark, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
0511/1-68-53-33
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Attractions in Hannover
Type: Government Buildings, Cultural
Attraction details
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Best thing about the place is you can see set that shows how Hannover was over period of time like Pre-nazi, after Nazi, now etc. Shows you how Hannover has changed over the time. It is located on ground floor. I would not even recommend to go on other floors..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    128
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The building is beautiful, both inside and out. Make sure to spend some time exploring the grounds. And the gardens in the back are great for relaxing and enjoying the sunshine. Also, I waited 40 mins in line to go up to the top of the tower, but it was worth it. The elevator ride was neat and the views from up there were spectacular. Lots of photography possibilities.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erzenhausen, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cool building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

we didn't go inside the building, I think it was closed on the Sunday we visited. Very cool looking building from the outside and very nice park area leading to the lake behind the building.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A definite must of things to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If going up the lift to the top, go early in the day or you could be waiting on the terrace for quite a while. Worth the wait though. Fantastic views tobe seen over Hannover. Was not expensive. We gained cheaper access by purchasing a Hannover card with discounts.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Exquisite building......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

During a day trip to Hanover we picked up a book from the tourist information centre for 3 EUR that details the red line walking tour. We would recommend this as an absolute must on a visit to the city as you get to see sooo much and at whichever pace you choose. One such place on the tour is the new town hall. What a fantastic building this is. Great as well that you can enter for free. The inside (for us) did not live up to the expectations of the building on the outside but there are 4 models of Hanover which provide a fascinating insight into how the city has changed. The 4 models are from the early days, just before WWII, just after WWII and then present day. It was interesting to see the buildings that still stand and are part of the red line tour. We did not go to the top (our mistake as we did not realise as otherwise we would have taken this extra trip) it was a nice day so the view would have been good. We did go into the gardens and walked around the lake and then to the football stadium. We had a great time and although this review is mainly about the new town hall, don't forget to do the red line walk :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hannover City Hall (Rathaus) also viewed

 
Hannover, Lower Saxony
 

Been to Hannover City Hall (Rathaus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hannover City Hall (Rathaus), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.