We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location, small rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central-Hotel Kaiserhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Central-Hotel Kaiserhof to your Saves list
Central-Hotel Kaiserhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ernst-August-Platz 4, 30159 Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Hannover
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“perfect location, small rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stay here for one night on a business trip. This was a return visit. The hotel is right next to the train station, which was perfect for an early morning train departure.
The room was spotless clean. Same applies to the bathroom.
The room and the bathroom are both very small, which was okay for a short night. The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep.
As I left early, I did not have breakfast.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    54
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
7
19
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Very good location 1 minute from HBF .7 u-bahn lines and s-bahn and busses connects you to any spot in the city.
We were there for the IAA and the MESSE was 15 minutes by 1 subway line .very close to all the shopping spots(galleria kaufhof 1.min,karstadt+C&A 3 min. Ernst-August-Platz gallery Mall-2.min.).
Reception staff were pros and gave top service.

Free internet terminal at the lobby very nice - as in hannover there isnt any free wi-fi (at the IAA it was 10 euros per hour-true rip off) the hotel charged about 2 euros per hour which is a little bit expensive in you consider how widely we use wi-fi today with laptop and to check email on our cell phones etc..

Didn't eat at the hotel as the Train station offered so much food choices.but the buffet breakfast for 15 euro p.p is good with a choise of hot food - bacon eggs etc for those who like to start their day with a large cooked meal .

All hannover hotels prices were sky-high for the IAA but got a nice deal through booking.com
Room was very big on the 4th floor back corner facing the galleria kaufhof on one side and the intercity hotel on other side- very quiet and nice view of the hbf ... the hotel is on a busy street near a police and fire station aslo the train at hbf work for most of the night so if you want to sleep with an open windows - better bring earplugs if you a are a light sleeper. i like the sounds of the city myself and slept like a baby .free minibar was a nice plus.will stay there again.

also as all shops and cafes in the area close at 20:00 and most of the shops close at sunday. in the HBF you can find a super market open 7 days a week untill 22 and drugstore and a kiosk who are open even later.also food choices that open even after midnight while all other in the city shut at 20:00

the minuses...
The hotel is a little bit outdated and need a little face lift - bathrooms and furniture are a little old and start to show their age.Also as previous ppl said no AC in rooms- the room will be boiling hot in summer.but as for 24/9 with 8 deg. outside the room was just fine..AC is a must today in every bussiness hotel.also the tv sets need to be refurbished to LCD and would be nice to add more english chanells in the TV.
you should check the prices carfuly as In conventions time it jumps to 280 euro per day
without breakfest which is very high we paid around 100 per night which was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This hotel is conveniently located just in front of the Main station. Good breakfast and minibar (beer, water and orange juice!) are inclusive. Very old building but well maintained. Rooms are relatively small but basically comfortable IF IT IS NOT THE SUMMERTIME. Unfortunately, there is no air conditioning in the room, so I needed to leave the window open during the night. I could not sleep well as sounds of trafic (mostly buses) and yelling of drunks were too noisy. Please avoid the summer and you may find this hotel as a good business hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Solid hotel with a great location and have stayed here a couple times for business trips. Directly across from the main train station and right next to the shopping areas and a short walk to the small historic part of town that predates WWII. As I understand it, most of the town was leveled during the war and the few surviving buildings were consolidated in a central area.

The single rooms can be small (this is typical of European hotels) but very clean and adequate. Free minibar that gets restocked each night and very friendly staff. The restaurant downstairs is also pretty good if you don't feel like going out for the night and there are some very cute waitresses working there. The breakfast bar is pretty good with a combination of freshly cooked hot breakfast and the usual cold cuts, pastries, fruit and cereal.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No free internet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

I cannot understand the bad critics about this hotel. Well, it is NOT a five-star-hotel, but:
- it is very clean, especially the bathroom
- nice (ok not big, but ok) rooms
- it's not as loud as described
- friendly stuff
- free mini-bar
- good breakfast

I think, especially for a business stay, if it is important to stay near to the city center or the station, it is a very good choice.
Friendly stuff and really good breakfast included!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

This hotel in the central square of a very friendly city had a busy and business facing atmosphere, while there seemed to be a far amount of large groups staying while I was there. The single rooms was small but tidy and clean, the hotel lobby was very small and not necessarily good to hang out in. While the Breakfast area was well run with a very good breakfast on offer. To the point that a lot of customers were coming in off the street. All in all my stay was good.

  • Liked — Central location local to central Hanover
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

My wife chose this hotel in order to experience some local character by not staying in a predictable chain/name brand hotel. The Central-Hotel Kaiserhof did not disappoint us. It is located centrally in Hannover, across the Ernst August Platz from the Hauptbahnhof.

The room was clean and nicely decorated. It was located on the 3rd (4th floor to us Americans) floor, overlooking the Ernst August Platz and the Hauptbahnhof. The bathroom had a shower in the tub. There was a TV, but I don't believe there was air conditioning. We kept the window open when we slept, and since our stay was at the end of May, this was adequate for our needs. Since our room overlooked the Ernst August Platz, there was some noise from the streetcar and pedestrian traffic, and there was also some construction work being done across the way. It was bearable, though, and in no way detracted from our pleasant stay.

There is outdoor seating for eating and drinking, and indoor seating in the restaurant if one prefers. Excellent food and beer! My wife and I preferred to eat our evening meals outside and breakfast inside. We could have eaten at any one of the numerous eateries in Hannover but couldn't see why when the offerings at this hotel were so good.

The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful and didn't seem to mind my attempts at speaking German. All the personnel spoke excellent English. This was also true for the restaurant staff.

The Central-Hotel Kaiserhof is nicely located for exploring Hannover on foot. There is a tour marked by a red line on the sidewalk , starting at the Hauptbahnhof, that will take one to most of the interesting places in Hannover. There is no cost for this, and a tour booklet can be obtained at the Hauptbahnhof.

My wife and I would definitely stay at the Central-Hotel Kaiserhof again.

  • Liked — The central location.
  • Disliked — The central location.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central-Hotel Kaiserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central-Hotel Kaiserhof

Address: Ernst-August-Platz 4, 30159 Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hannover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Central-Hotel Kaiserhof 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Central-Hotel Kaiserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Kaiserhof
Central Hotel Hannover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central-Hotel Kaiserhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.