We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterCityHotel Goettingen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added InterCityHotel Goettingen to your Saves list
InterCityHotel Goettingen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofsallee 1a, 37081 Gottingen, Lower Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Gottingen
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, average accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while in town for a friend's wedding. The location is very convenient to the train station and a short walk to the old town center, so I have no complaints here and it was the perfect place to stay as I did not have a car.

The hotel was clean and the breakfast (included in the room price) was a wonderful way to start the morning each day. The front desk staff were professional and I had no problems with my room charges or any other aspect of communication with the front desk. There was free WIFI in the lobby, but not in the rooms. I stayed in a room with two single beds. The beds were not very comfortable, and probably could use new mattresses. The furniture is standard, and a bit dated.

Overall, the hotel was fine for this trip, but if I visit Gottingen again I will probably look for other options before deciding where to stay, although I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor (5) were quiet and had the best view over the surrounding buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    28
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
3
9
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at the Intercity while on a business trip to Goettingen. The hotel is located across the street from the train station, making it very convenient for those travelling by train between cities. It's also within easy walking distance to the heart of town and the tourist sites.

The hotel itself is in what in the US would be termed a strip mall, shared with a couple of restaurants, a movie theater, and game center with pool, darts, and video games.

The room was decent but not memorable, the breakfast good but not outstanding, the internet sketchy except in the lobby (and not free), cable channels were limited.

Will I stay here again next time I'm in Goettingen? Possibly, but there was nothing about my stay to make me loyal to the Intercity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

As we often travel with no specific plan, we arrived in Goettingen and decided it looked like a good spot to stop, so we did. We happened to park outside a four-star hotel, which is out of our price range, but I asked for other suggestions. InterCity was the first suggestion. It was close, the room rate was fine, and there was parking. The walk into to town was short and pleasant--a great value. Later we stayed in Hannover at the InterCity; it, too, was super.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Ok situated, 2 min walk from railwaystation. Not a personal atmosphere, but practical and clean. Breakfast is average, service is ok.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel is certainly good for business conference. During office hours, there are people using the conference rooms and I notice a lot of people meeting each other in business suits. As would a hotel designed more for business conference, the decor and service are no-nonsense type. Spick and span, quick and efficient, clean and nice.

We enjoyed the good hot breakfast. Lots to choose from the buffet spread. Breakfast in conference style, all table set like a classroom, even though it is a dining room.

No free wi-fi in our room, but wi-fi available for free at the lobby. We were on holiday, so this did not affect us much, but somehow, it would be good if free wi-fi available in room, at least to check some emails.

Close walking distance from the train station, less than 5 minutes. Walking to town, however, will need about 15 minutes to the famous goose girl fountain. There's where shops and restaurants are located.

Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The proximity to the train station is definitely the salient point for travelers using the German's extensive train network.

I stayed in this hotel sometime in February, 2011.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here while visiting for a basketball game. Clean room, not as modern as other intercity hotels, but nice water pressure in the showers. Close to trains made it easy for us to not have to drag our bags far for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwetzingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Good check-in, quick and correct.
Rooms clean, small but functional.
Perfect for business trip

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterCityHotel Goettingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Goettingen

Address: Bahnhofsallee 1a, 37081 Gottingen, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Gottingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gottingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterCityHotel Goettingen 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your InterCityHotel Goettingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Goettingen göttingen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterCityHotel Goettingen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.