We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel am Papenberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel am Papenberg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel am Papenberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herrmann-Rein-Strasse 2, 37075 Gottingen, Lower Saxony, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Gottingen
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very nice hotel and staff. Bf is nice. You will get tea/coffee during the night as well (free of cost). There is direct bus (number 8) from train stain to the gate of hotel and big supermarket next to the hotel.

Room Tip: You have to tell at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
7
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joao Pessoa, Brazil
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed in the Best Western Hotel am Papenberg for two brief periods between December/2010 and January/2011. It's a good hotel with a fairly accomodations. The rooms are spacious, however a little bit dated. The bathroom is huge and with a modern decoration. The cleaning service worked really well. It's worth mention that the breakfast buffet is great. A lot of option and great service. The front desk was very helpful and could assist with any demand. The hotel is a little bit far from the city centre, however it's a nice walk there and there's a bus stop really near it. Nevertheless the location is perfect for someone that is staying/studying at the Klinikum. It's about 600 m from it. It isn't a very cheap hotel, my I think that the price is ok for what they offer. I would recommend it and I'll for sure be back at it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

I frequently visit Germany on business by car. Göttingen is kind of in the middle of things. Hotel am Papenberg is fairly easy to find if you come from the highway. In the city of Göttingen there are hotel directional signs on some of the main streets. These are helpful if you are without a GPS.

For business travel the hotel is just a place to stay. The rooms are OK in size although taing a bath is a bit of a hassle as the bathtubs are real shallow. At my last stay the room had a flat screen TV and a fridge, but no safety box.

The hotel has a real good breakfast. Anything you need without becoming too overwhelming. Joint with the hotel ground floor there is a real good Italian restaurant. That is one of the reasons I chose this hotel. Last time I ate there a three course meal including mineral water was around 30 EURO.

  • Liked — The Italian restaurant, the breakfast, flat screen TV
  • Disliked — Shallow bath tub, no security box in room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

This is not a good choice for Gottingen if you are a tourist. We used it to visit our daughter, who is a student in the city. They made a mistake with our reservation and we got stuck in a smoking room which was not good. The front desk was not helpful when I asked for some advice about touring the area. The breakfast was good, but our overall impression was not. I woulc choose another hotel.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Front desk service....and quality of accomodations.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel am Papenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel am Papenberg

Address: Herrmann-Rein-Strasse 2, 37075 Gottingen, Lower Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Gottingen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gottingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel am Papenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel am Papenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gottingen
göttingen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel am Papenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.