We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME. Worth the trip from New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake Cleveleymere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lake Cleveleymere
Save
You added The Lake Cleveleymere to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Cleveley Mere, Cleveley Bank Lane, Forton PR3 1BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME. Worth the trip from New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

What an absolutely awesome place , we stayed in the fin lodge and it was just perfect. Went shooting and fly fishing with Alex the game keeper and what an experience. He is like a character out of dowton Abbey , just exceptional to be with. After the lessons took a row boat on to the lake to fish for a couple hours and was just so relaxing . The great thing is that this place is not to far from the big lakes and cute villages so a perfect base . I would recommend this to anyone wishing to visit the area

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
76
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

What an amazing, extremely relaxing and fun-filled stay!
It is a real privilege to be able to share in the experience of Cleveley Mere which is set in a beautiful location with its own private nature reserve.
We found Fin Lodge to be very clean, well equipped, homely, warm, and romantic.
The on-site activities provide a learning opportunity and adventure for all. Boredom is not an option!
We had many fantastic times which included rowing across the lake in the evening sun to gather firewood for our open fire which we enjoyed sitting around together whilst roasting marshmallows and sausages. The dog had a great time "crewing" our boat, and playing in the river.
Cleveley Mere is a back to nature, get away from it all experience and a "Swallows and Amazons" type of adventure for children.
We've built up some beautiful memories, shared in some precious moments and hope to be back.
Thank you Roger, the Cleveley Mere team and ducks for the wonderful welcome and hospitality you extended to us all during our stay. What you provide is a real credit to you all! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Having just got married and with a 3 month old baby boy, we decided to go on a mini-moon and we are so pleased we chose to go to Cleveleymere.

We stayed in the Otters lodge which was fantastic, we felt really spoilt as the lodge had everything we needed and more. Instantly relaxing, very luxurious, and very exclusive.

Rodger provided an excellent insight into local areas to visit, and we took on board his advice and managed to visit some lovely places as well as eat at some fantastic restaurants.

Both myself and my husband will be arranging another visit to Clevelymere, and we can't wait to share another lovely break with our friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have just returned from a amazing stay at Cleverley Mere. Perfect couple of days away with plenty to do! The cabin was gorgeous with everything you need. Roger and staff could not do enough for you and made us feel very welcome! Can not wait to book again : )

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Cleveley Mere. It was a great place to enjoy some quality family time. My 11 year old daughter didn't want to come home which sums up the time we've had.
We stayed in the Badgers lodge which had everything you could want and more- comfy beds, fully equipped kitchen, bright modern bathrooms and lots of extra touches that made it so special ( bottled water, toiletries, hair dryers, fluffy towels, a guitar, games, DVDs as well as a welcome pack of wine, chicks and freshly laid eggs.
We fed the ducks, oak our own boa rowing around the lake, toasted marshmallows at the fire pit and cycled around the lake. Our daughter loved the zip wire, the new giant trampoline, the various boats and the crazy golf
I rarely go anywhere twice as like to try new places but we've already agreed to return here. As a busy family the real plus was that it was so peaceful with only seven lodges. Thanks to everyone at Cleveley mere for making it so incredible!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have just returned from a three day break .From arrival to check out we were made to feel so relaxed and welcome , a full introduction of everything available on site for us to use freely was given to us, bikes, boats, games room (the den) ect .....

Throughout our stay there was plenty to keep ourselves and our 15 year old son entertained and occupied.

Badgers lodge was beautiful inside and out, stunning views of the lake and surrounding scenery, everything you could want or need was available to an extremely high standard, everything had been thought of and provided with so many extras.... Wine, box of chocolates and fresh eggs waiting for us was a lovely touch .

We are already planning another stay as we're missing our ducks and swans already!
When leaving we were asked if anything could be improved.... But how can you improve perfection!
Thank you Roger and your lovely team for making our stay such a special one , see you soon !!!
Richard & Ruth .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have just arrived home from a 3 night mini honeymoon as a newly married couple. The site, service and accommodation is exceptional, Roger and the team are fantastic and made us feel like VIP's!!
Staying in the tree house was an amazing experience, pure luxury and idyllic location. The attention to detail and interior facilities were fantastic. The site also hosted a range of activities and as a testament to how much we enjoyed it, we didn't leave the site in the 3 days we were there!
Thanks again Roger, we will be booking again soon and here are the wedding dress pics :)
Simon and Lorna

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake Cleveleymere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Cleveleymere

Address: Cleveley Mere, Cleveley Bank Lane, Forton PR3 1BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Forton
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Cleveleymere 4*
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake Cleveleymere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.