We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, Luxurious & Friendly- Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Holly Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middle Holly Cottage
Save
You added Middle Holly Cottage to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
East Anglia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Safe, Luxurious & Friendly- Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I stayed at Middle Holly Cottage for 1 night and wished I could have stayed longer. As a single female traveller, safety is high on my priority and I was not disappointed. Hilary & Ian are brilliant hosts and they do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The property is immaculately maintained with the gardens having won a lcoal award. My room was spotless and furnished extremely tastefully . Good quality bedding, and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was modern with an efficient shower and lovely fluffy towels. Great sized flat screen TV. Ian's breakfasts are fantastic including local free range eggs - in fact, so local, they come from next door! Hilary & Ian are the type of hosts who have worked hard to provide qualilty accomodation and good old fashioned customer service to a very high standard. I will be going back without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
58
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed here for one night en route to Scotland but would have loved to have stayed much longer. We got a lovely warm welcome from Hilary who showed us to our beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean room before making sure we knew where we could go to get a good meal that evening.

You can tell that Ian and Hilary have travelled a lot - they have used their experiences of staying in other places to ensure that the rooms have the sort of touches that make all the difference (bottle of water, quality fittings/soft furnishings, bathroom well equiped, hospitality tray etc).

The thoughtful touches don't stop at the rooms either. There is a welcoming sitting room for guests, with a sofa and table and chairs, overlooking the pretty garden - great if you're on your own and don't want to look at the same 4 walls all evening.

Ian cooked a delicious breakfast in the morning and Ian and Hilary's friendliness meant we ended up leaving much later than intended and reluctant to go. You really can't get much better than that.

The only reason we give the location 4 stars instead of 5 is that you do get some traffic noise in the garden (which is really inviting with tables and chairs available for guests to sit at). This is a tiny quibble though and really not an issue (especially as we couldn't hear any noise from the road in the house).

Having a pub and a restaurant within easy walking distance is such a treat too (no drinking and driving worries here). Having arrived late, tired and thirsty we decided to eat at the pub. It didn't look very characterful but Hilary assured us the food there is good and she was right. It has a hugely extensive, and varied, menu that should appeal to anybody (and the beer is good too). We would recommend taking a torch though as the lane would be very dark to walk down on a cloudy night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Ian & Hillary are lovely, warm and very welcoming owners of this fantastic B&B!
It felt like home away from home. We were allowed to check in early in order to attend a wedding later in the day.
Rooms were Immaculate and well maintained. Owners have maintained a very high quality decor. Ample parking space & Location is minutes within M6 Motorway. Very well maintained gardens and common sitting area.
Breakfast was awesome - freshly prepared form local produce! Certainly the best full english I have ever tasted in a B&B.
Wish I could stay for couple more nights! Already planning my next visit.
Highly Recommended! This B&B has written superlatives all over it ;)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This is a fantastic bed and breakfast certainly five stars in my book - very quaint and beautiful building in the country side clean and modern rooms with luxury bathrooms.Not far from little villages and Lancaster city centre. It is run by Ian and Hillary who are fantastic hosts - the breakfast is out of this world and the service is fantastic. All this and the feeling of being at home because you are surrounded by nice people and for women on their own its nice and safe - try it - it is a must .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Notts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

After travelling extensively most of my life, I was recommended 'Little Holly' by a colleague, and I would like to thank you, Rita. I have stayed in a few places in and around Lancaster but blinking heck, I thought I had landed in heaven... Food (breakfast is a must), Comfort (the rooms have been well though out, especially for a female traveller), Peace (this is on the edge of heaven). Don't pass this one by it has definately got the WOW factor. Nothing is too much trouble for Hilary and Ian. Thank you for looking after me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Completely agree with other reviews - v friendly, comfortable and great breakfast. Always tempting to drive straight though this area on way to Lakes - but there is plenty to see here too. Convenient for trips to Forest of Bowland, Garstang, Lancaster and canals. If you like Indian food, there is also a good restaurant nearby

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

A beautifully restored cottage with superb facilities. The bedrooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and plenty of it. The hosts Ian and Hillary are very warm, welcoming and friendly, Free Wifi and parking, I would recommend to anyone seeking a quiet, luxurious couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Address: Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a war,friendly atmosphere.All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen tv,complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray.Large private car park.Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33,ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland.Serveral good pus and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Holly Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.