We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Class B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Holly Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middle Holly Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Top Class B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to attend a local wedding. The room was very tastefully decorated and was in fact far nicer than some of the most expensive hotels I have stayed in. Breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
53
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This wonderful little B&B has been very lovingly and thoughtfully upgraded in recent years to create a first class place to stay. Everything, from the warm welcome on arrival to the excellent breakfast made my stay very pleasant. This B&B is very reasonably priced for such a high standard of accommodation and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience of staying there.

Room Tip: Contact the B&B directly to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent a night here. The accommodation is very comfortable, the welcome was warm and friendly and the cooked breakfast was superb.
The beds were very comfortable and we were surprised by the high quality of the facilities. Ian was very informative and helpful in directing us to a suitable place for an evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ian & Hilary have really got it right, they provide a superb B&B which is spotless clean and everything finished to a very high standard. The room, bed and large on-suite was faultless with the room kept nice and warm . The breakfast was absolutely delicious with all local produce used.
Well done to you both as you provide a first class B&B. If you are looking to stay in this area we can certainly recommend a stopover here, one we will definitely use again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which overlooks the road but with the double glazing we had no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Ian and Hilary are lovely hosts and they have a wonderful home for guests. All areas are clean and welcoming. Rooms have everything you may need - I used the hot water bottle which was a lovely touch! Breakfast was absolutely delicious.
Definitely recommend if you are coming to the area!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is how it should be done! Hilary & Ian are the perfect hosts, The cottage is very cosy whilst still offering a guests lounge and many facilities.
My wife & I stayed in room 1, This gave me probably one of the best nights sleep that I had benefitted from in some years, and after investigating I discovered that the matresses were Memory Foam. So now ordering one for our bed immediately!
The breakfast was amazing!!
The place was immaculately kept! spotlessly clean! & a joy to stay in! Home from home! OUTSTANDING!
We will be back , rest assured!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent. Extremely clean room and we were made very welcome by our hosts. They couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, nothing was a problem. It was like a home from home. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Address: Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a war,friendly atmosphere.All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen tv,complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray.Large private car park.Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33,ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland.Serveral good pus and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Holly Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Middle Holly Cottage to your Saves list