We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The New Holly Country Pub & Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The New Holly Country Pub & Inn to your Saves list
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lancaster Road, A6,, Forton PR3 0BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Garstang, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A pleasant enough place and friendly staff, but our Sunday lunch was definitely not up to scratch. Firstly, warm bread rolls were brought to the table, cheap, presumably 'part-baked' ones that can be bought cheaply in any supermarket - almost tasteless. My wife's Turkey meal was OK but my lamb was lukewarm and had very little taste to it, the potatoes and veg were also not very hot. Desserts were a disappointment also, my choc brownie sundae was mainly fluffed -up cream, whilst my wife's jam sponge was a dense mass of stodge with jam on top - presumably another bought in microwave product. At £18-95 for a two course Sunday lunch, we were expecting much better.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
33
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed in the family room (6) on Saturday night. We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our room which was warm, clean, comfortable and spacious.
Staff were helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble.
Plenty choices of cereals, drinks and milk and the complimentary pastries etc were much appreciated.
The only point I have to bring up was the shower head, trying to position it into a decent place but that's that's a minor.
We'll definitely be visiting again.
Many thanks.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

we stayed at the new holly for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby.arriving for a dinnertime meal before booking in our room.the food was very good and the service also.we were in room 5 double deluxe onsuite. nice and comfortable, maybe a little, dark most of the furnishings were black. we had a good nights sleep.the only thing that lets down the new holly is the breakfast,a full english would make your stay perfect but all you get is a few cereals and juice in your room. you can get croissants if you ask, but a cooked breakfast would make all the difference

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Stayed at the hotel as it was available for booking at short notice in the area we wanted to visit. The room rate of £59 was very reasonable.

When we arrived at the inn, one of the stff greeted us and showed us to our room and offered to give us a hand with our bags. We were in Room 2 which is ovelrooks the back of the property. It has a very large bed and the furnishings are OK, some items better quality than others. The picture hooks on the wall mentioned in a previous review are still there. There is also an old CRT television, surprised it hasn't been replaced by a smaller flat screen television. The room was warm but fortunately there is a window which opens to let in some fresh air. Note there is not a view from the window and the room is above the kitchen but we did not get any smells or have any problems with noise. The ensuite has been modernised with a nice large shower, the shower head fitment wasn't working and you could not adjust for height. The rate is quoted as room only but a complimentary breakfast is provided. Fruit juice, cereals, a croissant and a danish pastry. There are tea and coffe making facilities. There is no fridge in the room so long life milk is provided. Note there is no breakfast room or lounge area to sit in the morning, the door into the bar is locked..

We had our evening meal at the inn and it was very enjoyable. We had booked our table in advance and therefore we had one reserved. It was a Saturday evening so a good idea to reserve, The bar area has been furnished in a contemporary style and is very pleasant. For starters we had garlic mushrooms and duck with pancakes. For mains we both had fishermans pie served with a selection of vegetables. I had a large glass of wine, Jackie had a cider and I finished with a coffee. Cost of the mel was under £50 and the staff waiting on were all very friendly and efficient.

Probably more likely to eat here again than stay but the room rate is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Book aroom at the back of the hotel as the inn is situated on the main A6 road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

A coach party of 46 recently visited for an evening meal after a day out, it was organized in advance with the New Holly who were able to provide a tailored menu, and as the previous year the food and service were excellent, not one complaint, the reason we returned again this year x

Room Tip: Sorry did not stay overnight
See more room tips
Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights in Room 5. I was expecting the typical hum drum B&B decor and was blown away by the understated elegance. A kitchenette area included a fridge with milk and orange juice. An ample supply of tea, coffee and gourmet hot cocoa. A selection of cereal and patries was an amazing touch. Besides the well appointed bathroom, the room is outfitted with built in shelving, vanity, large screen TV and roomy desk with a high back chair. By far the most important feature was the super comfortable bed with hig quality sheets and amazing canopy. Haven't experienced such luxurious bedding sincemy stay in a Private Concierge suite at the Venetian in Las Vegas. You will NOT be disappointed.

Does it get any better, oh yeah. The dining experience was top rate from food to the beverage and service. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Stayed 1 night in the family room (6) great space for 3 adults. Booked as room only pleasantly surprised that croissants pastries & cereals were provided for breakfast .

Our evening meal was delicious and well presented

Next time we plan a trip to area this will be our venue

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Holly Country Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Holly Country Pub & Inn

Address: Lancaster Road, A6,, Forton PR3 0BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Holly Country Pub & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The New Holly Country Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.