We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One NIght stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fontana to your Saves list
Hotel Fontana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Sonnenberger Strasse 62, 65193 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Wiesbaden
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One NIght stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Travelling from UK to Italy on motorbikes this was our first stop Had been a long day in 30 degree heat. Having travelled the Rhine valley tourist route we did not arrive until about 7pm. Coming in from the west we had to travel through Wiesbaden which surprised us by the size of the city .Looks really nice tho. Sat Nav located the hotel nae bother which looks very modern and a bit out of place in an old established town house area .We found the hotel easy to book directly with very helpful reception staff. Location is great and away from the buzz and we found plenty of places to eat in a smart part of the city within a 10 minute walk. There is a very nice Italian restaurant next door to the hotel which was tempting but we decided to wander further afield.We did not experience any noise from the restaurant. A good base for a couple of days, comfortable beds in a clean room which was a good size as was the modern bathroom. Interesting duvet arrangement-two single. duvets on a double bed, but hey it worked well. Towels were on the thin side. Room had a balcony but no seats. Lifts to all floors. Parking was off road - we chose the undercover parking for the bikes at 9 euros for the one car space. There is free parking at the front of the hotel concealed from the road. Good standard continental breakfast buffet. Would stay again.
Onward to Central Hotel Villingen -Schwenningen via the B500 -supposedly a super biking road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at hotel Fontana from 14th to 18th June 2013 and found our room impressive, clean, spacious and comfortable although the bed was on the hard side for our taste. All staff friendly. Breakfast good with a good variety of choice. We would, however, not stay at this hotel again as, on the 3rd day we were called by telephone at 9.10am and asked if we were coming to breakfast, this being from 7am to 10am. We had not asked for a wake-up call and felt very rushed on arrival at breakfast. We had booked and paid via the internet what we thought was the full cost. However, on checking out, we were presented with a further bill for 104 euros for breakfast over 4 days. We had assumed that the price of the stay included breakfast as is normally the case. When we queried this, we were told "you should have asked". We believe that we should have been told in advance, therefore leaving us the choice of whether to take it or leave it. The whole stay was an expensive excercise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The service at this hotel was above and beyond my expectations. I arrived 4 hours earlier than the check in time and the lady at reception (who I think is the owner) allowed me to check in within 15 minutes by arranging for my room to be cleaned straight away. She was also very helpful with all my queries and questions. The room was very cosy and comfortable. Great location directly next to park and forest trails which are great for walking or running.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Functional hotel, spacious rooms set in a quiet residential area. Good place to relax and sleep, even though the facilities are limited. Wiesbaden is a delight and this hotel is just 10 minutes walk to the centre. There is an onsite restaurant, but we never used it, prefering to eat in town. If all you want is quality accomodation and a place to rest and sleep, you can't really do any better than Hotel Fontana.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nice and clean. Good style to the place and we enjoyed the family-run atmosphere. Some of the staff were very welcoming and friendly and tolerant of our active toddler! Good English spoken by all staff.

We nearly stayed again on our way back through Germany but decided to gamble and try another place. The hotel very politely and efficiently processed our (free) cancellation.

Coffee was terrible. Breakfast lacked some hot selection but was generally quite good.

Some of the other staff were not particularly helpful.

A little out of the main action in Wiesbaden but the walk down not too long.

Room Tip: Nice and clean. Good style to the place and we enjoyed the family-run atmosphere. Some of the staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Spent a week in Sept 2011 seeing Weisbaden. Hotel had free parking, and right on bus line also. The basics - we were on third floor, it was very quiet. We slept well, Hotel has elevator

Staff were very friendly, someone on each shift spoke English. My wife speaks German, but mine is nich sehr gut (not very good.) Hotel is 12 minute walk to downtown, and 5 minute walk to Casino. Very good public bus stops close to hotel - best bus deal is a day's pass for 5 Euros. Or each 1 way trip is 2 euros. The downtown is very active, pedesterian friendly. The casino is well known, but actually is small. I would be surprised if it had more than 200 slots. Table games highstakes.

Hotel clean as a pin, mostly European business people using it. Good full breakfast 7 to 9 but pricy - 13 Euros for buffet type breakfast. But had American cereal, to German sliced meat, and hard rolls. No "cheap" restaurants right around there. For sight seers, old style pristine turn of the last century homes to admire right around there. It is in a nice part of the city, no slums, or street people hanging about - no grafatti.

I left a jacket there. They were nice enough to write me in Ameria asking if I would like them to mail it back to me. It was an inexpensive jacket, but I was impressed at the gesture of kindness they took to see if I wanted it.

They did not go out of their way to attract children. I liked that. I don't travel with kids, and do not like them in a neighboring room making noise. No kids about - a strong plus in my book. I raised 3, but I was young then, now I am older, and my nerves are shot.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor,no street noises. Don't get room right next to elevator, people getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We needed a room for only one night and this hotel was a very good choice. It's close to the city centre (10 min) and you can walk through the ‘Kurhaus’ park. There's free parking on the street in front of the hotel but they also have 4 free parking spaces in the courtyard.
Room was clean and not too small. It was facing the shady side therefore it was cool although it was a hot day (I don’t remember whether there was an air-condition or not). Staff is nice, only breakfast is a bit expensive. But you can always take a walk to the park or city centre and have it there (all cafes serve breakfast).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Address: Sonnenberger Strasse 62, 65193 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.