We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden to your Saves list
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auguste-Viktoria-Str. 15, 65185 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very good and worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

One of the best things about this very good (but expensive) hotel is the front-office staff. Everyone I met on reception (several, over a multi-day stay) was friendly, professional and very helpful. Would that all hotel staff were as well trained!

Upon arriving by car, a porter immediately emerged on to the street to help with the baggage - that's rare. Checking-in was easy and efficient. The room was large with a separate desk; the bathroom was small with not-full-size bath. Very nice toiletries provided.

The outdoor restaurant was terrific; the food so good and service just the right degree of attentiveness and leaving you alone, that I ate there twice. Breakfast was also of very high standard, with double the number of usual options at a breakfast buffet.

The only problem was that the chambermaid pulled back all the blinds and curtains when she cleaned the room, (presumably on instructions so to do) that when I returned late afternoon the room was swelteringly hot with the sun shining in all day long. The air conditioning struggled with the resultant heat to cool the room down. I do not understand why chambermaids do this.

Having consulted the management, I found out how to open the large windows (there are no instructions) and how to operate the external blind (there are no instructions). Perhaps they could provide some to future guests?

Also, the chambermaid did not take away empty water and juice bottles, which I thought very odd in a 5* hotel.

I slept very well once the outside traffic had calmed down - my room faced Friedrich-Ebert-Allee, a dual carriageway. The hotel spans a whole block so I imagine rooms facing August-Victoria-Strasse are quieter. Ask for a room at the "front" if you don't want traffic noise.

There is one desk adjacent to reception for free internet use, which was welcome. There is no need to use their underground carpark at a charge - parking on the street is no problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    89
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
34
20
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Spent just one night here on a business trip last week. Was welcomed by the front desk staff at 8:30am. Room wasn't available for 30 minutes, but there is a free computer in the lobby (business center) to use and pass the time.

Received my room on the 4th floor at 9am. Room was spacious with two twin beds pushed together to make a King bed. Room has a desk/chair, easy chair, side table, fridge/mini bar, hair dryer, etc. Closets are very large with lots of hangars. This is a plus! Large windows actually open, but if you have small children keep them away from them!

Very convenient location to the Hauptbahnhof and the city center. Very quiet hotel. Beds are very comfortable with excellent duvets. Would return here any time!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed here twice within 10 days, so we where surprised that the same mistake could happen twice, which was asking for an additional bed for a 6 year old and getting a baby cot twice. Otherwise, good location with a 10 minute walk downtown, ample parking (at airport rates) and a good breakfast buffet (not exaggerated, but sufficient). Staff is either very helpful or has a "don't bother me" attitude. It may help the Hotels occupancy rate if this would we more on the top side of things.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

I stayed here with my husband who was on business. Previously we had stayed at the Achat Hotel. There is no comparison between the two hotels. The Dorint is far more modern, larger rooms, more amenities, very quiet. The only positive that Achat had over the Dorint is it' s very close proximity to the Marktplaz pedestrian district. But the Dorint is within easy walking distance of that area, just not quite as close for dining.

The service is excellent at this hotel. it's very clean and comfortable. There is an option between traditional German featherbed with duvet and American sheet and blanket.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Business Hotel
Confortable
Nice Bierkeller
Night Music at the Lobby Bar
Problems with internet access

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Stayed here 2nd week of December. Wonderful! Wiesbaden is much more personal than Frankfurt. The hotel is close enough to walk to from the Hauptbahnhof, and the train goes directly to Frankfurt Airport.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay after touring around Germany for a week prior. Very comfortable room and great breakfast buffet. The staff was very accomodating and gracious. Would highly recommend for the price and value.

  • Liked — Plush
  • Disliked — No free internet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

The Dorint is a fairly modern business hotel that offered a good value for money. Located only 5 - 10 minutes by walk from the main train station, you can easily travel via train to Frankfurt, the Frankfurt airport or any number of locations.

The hotel itself offers clean rooms with a modern updated touch. The beds are firm, but comfortable and the bathroom was fairly large. My room was on the backside of the hotel which faced a side street and I found it to be very quite. Breakfast was included in my rate (but you should check first as it is not cheap), and the selection was broad and above average.

I managed to avoid the high internet rates by finding a wifi signal nearby.

Overall -- a good clean hotel that is reasonable in price.

  • Liked — Near train station, good clean rooms
  • Disliked — Off the beaten path
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden

Address: Auguste-Viktoria-Str. 15, 65185 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
#6 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden Hotel Wiesbaden
Sofitel Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.