We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, central location, good breakfast. Downside: rather noisy street right outside your window.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TOP Hotel Alexander

Save Saved
You added TOP Hotel Alexander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TOP Hotel Alexander
Rheinstrasse 72, 65185 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 44 hotels in Wiesbaden
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, central location, good breakfast. Downside: rather noisy street right outside your window.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night.

The room was very comfy. Lighting is a bit dim, but there are more lamps above the bed, which helps. The TV is rather small for such a big room and the distance that it's away from the bed. Bed was a big double made from pushing two small beds together.

The bathroom is clean and inviting, with a nice shower that works very well.

The mattress is comfortable, as are the pillows. Since we had a room facing the road I had to use earplugs, since it got very loud in the morning.

Breakfast offers a nice variety of food - fresh fruit salad, pastries, rolls, cheese, Wurst... I skipped the eggs since I was told that they were the cage hen type when I asked the staff. Tea was good.

All in all, this was a very pleasant stay and I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our holiday - we were very pleased. It is not a five star hotel, but it is clean, the bed is comfortable, has pleasant staff and the breakfast buffet was excellent! It is well situated to explore downtown Wiesbaden on foot, and not far from the train station.

We were very happy with our choice and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I stopped in Weisbaden whilst en-route to St Goarshausen. The hotel is approximately 25 minutes from the railway station and the walk is very pleasant as it gives you a chance to note how green and clean Weisbaden is kept. Checking in was very straight forward and the staff were very helpful. The room was very clean, but faced onto a busy road, that said, it did not stop us keeping our window open at all times as it was very warm during our stay.The breakfast was well prepared and substantial and on both days of our stay the food was constantly being replaced when necessary and the rolls and cakes were being baked. Freshly squeezed fruit juice was offered as a matter of course. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. During our stay we noted renovation works were taking place but this was done without being intrusive. We would recommend this hotel as a good base to explore Weisbaden owing to it's central location.

Room Tip: Our room was to the front of the hotel so faced onto a busy road, but it was clean and the staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Alexander in may 2011. to get the hotel from the train station,

take bus 6 or 6a across the road from the station and get off at shwalbacher. go up

dotzheimer and turn left into karlstrasse, when you get to Rheinstrasse the hotal is on

the corner across the road, a walk of around 200 mtrs.

Now the hotel, is clean and we were upgraded to a bigger room, (unsure if this was because the lift was broken) The room was basic with 2 single beds pushed together to make a queen with 2 single doonas, the pillows were way too soft and had to be folded over 3 times to make a comfortable pillow. the room has no fridge, aircon or fans. I dont think i could stay here in the heat of summer as we found it to be hot in early may. if you had to have the windows open the front rooms get a lot of traffic noise. The room was serviced every day however they only made the bed and didnt change the sheets. clean towels were provided each day. the bathroom was a bit pokey and hot water and good water pressure was a hit and miss affair.

Breakfast was O.K, with 1 hot dish of scrambled eggs with bacon mixed in, no toaster, but nice fresh rolls, cereal, cold meats and fruit. the highlight is the freshly made coffee
and capuccino and freshly squeezed orange juice. make a note to get there early as the eggs dry out and become rubbery.

reception staff were friendly and helpful. and if you are going to dine out there is nice Spanish tapas place, bodega antonio, not too far away. see my review for thet


there is free wifi provided, (not by the hotel) however it is an unsecure network so use at
your own risk. i picked up a hotel alexander network but was told it wasnt for us to use.

put in a $300 minbar and itr woud have been a better stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Nicely located within easy walking distance of major areas of interest. Very clean and tidy. Pleasant atomosphere and excellent staff. If you're in town for a couple of days this is an excellent option. I highly recommend it and last week I was in the Hong Kong Conrad. OK, no comparison there... certainly not in price. In sum: very clean and inviting.
Saw one review that mentioned no English channels on TV. I survived it with the free WiFi. Excellent included breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Really, I choose this hotel when I have seen price - bellow 60EUR with breakfast. WOW! But, it was very good located, near were a lot of shops, buses, trains (aprox. 15-25 min on foot). Rooms and beds - very comfortable, TV with a lot of channels, most German language but it did not matter for me. Staff was very professional, friendly. I was afraid because there wasn't aircondition, but Wiesbaden has very special climate - aircondition was not necessary. And there was one thing I want to describe - the breakfast. It was like a small feast. I expected standard, small continental breakfast, but... There were a lot types of cheese, scrambled eggs, sausages, fresh fruits. For me - best choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Overall I had quite a positive experience with this hotel.

I booked a single room through an hotel booking engine and got a competitive weekend fare of 55EUR including breakfast. A few minutes earlier however, I was a bit surprised that the hotel's own website showed no room availability!
Hotel is centrally located near the pedestrian and shopping zone. There is a bus stop nearby - from/to the railway station you can take lines 3, 6 and 33. Alternatively you may walk, which takes around 20-25 mins. Check-in was fast, staff very friendly.

The room itself offered good value for money. Comfortable bed with firm mattress and pillows; one small desk; one small TV displaying around 20 channels (however only two English-speaking channels); bathroom small but spotlessly clean. On the downside there is no airconditioning in the room; lighting is limited with only two lamps in the room; in the bathroom, once the light is on, there is a permanent ventilator noise which is annoying.

Breakfast is the most pleasant surprise in this hotel. I had expected a standard breakfast buffet, so was quite impressed by the quality of the products. Freshly-squeezed orange juice, homemade scrambled eggs and an impressive selection of "Wurst" sausages, different types of cheese, muesli, fresh fruit, yoghurts. Staff was welcoming and very friendly. On the downside I found the breakfast room to be a bit "canteen-like" with a single row of at least 20 tables!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TOP Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Alexander

Address: Rheinstrasse 72, 65185 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your TOP Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TOP Hotel Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.