We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 10-12, 65185 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were visiting to meet two German grandchildren last seen about 27 years ago.Contact had been lost due to family problems. Most of our time in Wiesbaden was spent with family but due to very cold weather we did not do much sightseeing. But our contact with family was exceptionally good and worth the effort.
The hotel staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: No knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello 499506Lore99,
we are happy to hear that you had such a good time while staying in Wiesbaden and that we could provide you with everything you needed while visitng family.
Thank you for your positive comments about our staff, I will pass on your feedback to everyone here at the hotel.
Best regards,
Hanna
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    134
    52
    16
    12
See reviews for
45
58
30
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the first time I have stayed in this hotel since the renovations from 2 years ago. The rooms were very nice and clean. The Staff was great and very helpful. This is an ideal location if you intend to visit the old town of Wiesbaden. It is not located directly in the old town, rather 2 blocks away from it. We liked this because we could get away from the crowded Christmas market when we needed a break :) There are also plenty of tasty restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The main train station is only 4-5 blocks away as well. One thing you might want to consider is that when staying over a weekend and you want to go to bed early, consider getting a non-courtyard facing room. The hotel bar has a outdoor area in the courtyard which patrons will congregate for a smoke. They can be loud and the windows while being closed didn't provide any sound dampening.
Overall I highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello jaboodie,
I really liked your review and am very proud that you recommend our hotel and the service.
Our reservation team is always happy to help with special requests or requirements.
Hope to see you back soon in Wiesbaden.
Katrin
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

excellent quality as one would expect from a Crowne Plaza from IHG group. but definitely on the upper end of those. large and nice rooms, good service. just the high price gave it a bitter taste. overall still one of the best hotels in town.

Room Tip: higher floors, away from the elavators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello ZiggyDiggy09,
It is a honour for us to read, that you consider us one of the best hotels in town.
Thank you very much for your positive review and the appreciation of the dedicated work we provide to make every stay an experience. We always take one step ahead to meet our clients needs.
Did you already consider to book an Advance Saver Rate? This always gives you an advantage of a lower rate with special booking restrictions.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Wiesbaden for your next stay.
Katrin
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been staying in WI in many hotels (business reasons) but this is my favourite one. The standard of the rooms is good, beds are big and comfortable, lots of pillows. Each room has ironing facilities which is really convenient when you travel for business reasons. The hotel offers free water every day.
Bathrooms are really small though.
Gym has old equipment, the running track is a bit creepy, but if you want to some training, you can do it. Swimming pool is small, so I did not try it.
The location is good, if you dont want to pay the parking fee, you can always park on a nearby Rheinstrasse which is never really a problem. The main market place and shopping street are 10 mins walking away.

Room Tip: try to get a room not facing Luisenstrasse bc it is noisy due to buses driving around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello AMK2522,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your recent experience with our hotel.
We are very proud that we are your favourite choice in Wiesbaden.

If you are coming back to Wiesbaden between November 27th and December 23rd, don’t miss the famous Christmas Market. It is just 200m from the hotel on the market place. They offer delicious hot beverages, arts&crafts and regional specialities.

kind regards
Katrin
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muscat
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Well, it seems the renovations of the property are completed and the hotel is now up-to-date and refreshed and modern.
I have stayed at this hotel many times, mostly on business (where I am booked in y commpanies travel department and have no say in the matter), but also privately.
Even though there are a lot of hotles in Wiesbaden, some chaper and some more expensive,my first port of call is the CP.
The location is excellent. A 10 minute walk from the train station (5 minutes per taxi, but you might cop some abuse from the taxi driver, because it is such a short ride). The shopping area, Government buildings etc are only a few steps away.
Wednesday and Saturday mornings there is an excellent "Farmer's Market" in the square, a 4-minute walk away. Not to be missed, but go before noon.

Staff at the hotel is friendl and knowledgable, and many have been with the hotle for years and I always see a familiar face.
The rooms have been updated and modernized. They are not large, but are very comfortable. The bathrooms are small, but are well designed, are stocked with a good selectio of nice quality toiletries. The shower pressure is superb. The only negative thing is that they have shower curtains and not solid sreens.

The restaurant serves nice, well prepared food. At the moment here seems to be a steak theme happening. You can eat in the restaurant proper or also in the bar area.
I asked for a "Wiener Schnitzel" which was not on the menu, but the kitchen made me one anyway. They did a decent job for a German restaurant.
The bar has benn modernized and the "mixologist" makes some sensational concoctions.
The man clearly enjoys his job and you can trust him to suggest something. Whilst unusual creations seem to be his forte, he of course also can do a killer traditional Martini cocktail.
There is also a nice wine selection available.

If I had to critisize one thing about the hotel, it would be that one has to pay for internet access.
No matter how much or little is charged for this, in this day and age it is akin to charging extra for hot water or to watch TV.

Overall, I had another very nice stay at the Crowne Plaza and I will be back on my next visit to Wiesbaden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear gerhard1965,

thank you very much for writing such a positive review about our hotel. We are very proud of our newly refurbished product and are happy to hear that our regular customers can see and appreciate the changes as well.
In regards to the Internet connection we offer at the hotel, we do provide a free Internet access option which is at a basic speed level. High Speed will be for a fee, which is in line with what other hotels in this area offer as well.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future so you can enjoy our freshly decorated rooms and of course the cocktail creations of our bar tender in our lili bar.

Hanna
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I'm glad I spent points on this property. If you can't put it as a business expense or not spend "real" money on this property, I wouldn't bother.

Impeccably clean room in an otherwise average 4 star property. Nothing really to do in Wiesbaden; I would suggest a hotel closer to Frankfurt proper or even Mainz than out here in this suburb. 30-40 minute train to FRA means a slow (but cheap at 4.10 EUR) overnight hotel for catching a flight.

Slowest internet I have ever seen. You can pay to up the speed though.

They did include a free sparking water, cookies, tea, and coffee in the room which was nice; I couldn't find the ice maker for the life of me though.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all good because my low level room was extremely clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Jim,

Thank you very much for providing us with details about your stay. Only with your consistent feedback we can improve our service.
We are glad that you were satisfied with the cleanliness in your room. Also thank you very much for your compliment about the complimentary treatments in your room. If you need some ice during your stay, our room service department would be glad to provide you with it the next time. Otherwise we have an ice machine on the 4th floor in front of the elevators.
We are very sorry that you felt the internet connection was too slow, we already took action regarding this and have improved the speed of our complimentary Internet service. As you mentioned, we also do provide a High Speed option for a fee.
We really hope that you give us and Wiesbaden a second chance and looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Irene
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

1) I specifically paid 25 Euros extra for a non-smoking room reservation --- and specifically got placed on a smoking floor.
2) This was the worst fitness room of any business hotel I've ever seen. All the cardio machines were at least 20 years old --- and did nothing.
3) Unbelievably slow Internet connectivity. So bad that I had to measure it to see for myself. With a full 4 bars WiFi on my laptop, I was only getting --- 0.06 Mbps. Snails could carry traffic faster than that.

Totally not functional as a business hotel. Hard to imagine that my visit just happened to surface 3 unacceptable faults. More likely --- the problems here are symptomatic of the poorest hotel management and poorest oversight.

The location is great : minutes by foot to the old city center. And Wiesbaden is one of my absolute favorite cities in Germany. But this was one of worst hotel experiences ever.

Never again. You should avoid this hotel, until recent reviews show marked improvement.

Room Tip: For a good room --- stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you very much for your comment. We really appreciate your feedback which gives us the chance to improve our performance.
We are very sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Regarding the internet connection, we would like to tell you that we already took action regarding this and have improved the speed of our complimentary Internet service and provide a High Speed option for a fee as well. However we would be very glad if you give us the chance to talk to you directly to find out more details about your stay. We would really appreciate it if you contact us directly via email sales.wiesbaden@ihg.com to speak about your stay.
We are really looking forward to speaking to you and hope that you give us a second chance.

Regards,
Irene
Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 10-12, 65185 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wiesbaden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wiesbaden
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
#4 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Hotel Wiesbaden. The centrally situated business hotel is the perfect starting point for your visit to Wiesbaden and the Rhine/Main region. The hotel's excellent location means that it can be reached easily by car, bus and train. Frankfurt International Airport (FRA) can be reached by taxi in around 30 minutes. The hotel's own underground car park has 140 spaces. The proximity of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Wiesbaden to Wiesbaden city centre makes it ideal for your tour of the city. You can reach many sites, such as Wilhelmstrasse, the casino, the theatre, the historic old town and the Wiesbaden Kurhaus, in only a few minutes' walk. The popular Rheingau region starts immediately in front of the city's gates. For business trips to Wiesbaden, the hotel can boast a handy proximity to local companies and the authorities. The hotel has more than 235 modernised guest rooms with free Wifi internet connection, air-conditioning and Flatscreen Entertainment System. Especially high-quality beds, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Package (sleeping tips and aromatherapy set) and a rest area make for a special sleeping experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden Hotel Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.