We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, friendly, well-situated base for exploring Wiesbaden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oranien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oranien to your Saves list
Hotel Oranien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platter Strasse 2, 65193 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A comfortable, friendly, well-situated base for exploring Wiesbaden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The first thing you notice upon entering is the dark woodwork, mirrors and brass fittings of the reception and restaurant area... this is an attractive hotel (except for the horrible glass and steel fire doors - couldn't they have used something more in keeping). You even get a proper key with a huge brass keyfob which I liked (although leave it at the desk rather than carrying it around - it's heavy!). The room was decent - although small for my tastes - with two single beds pushed together (why don't hotels then give you a double duvet instead of two singles?) a desk, wardrobe and elegant minibar with flatscreen TV. The only thing I did miss was an iron and ironing board, which you cannot get but they do provide an ironing and laundry service.The wireless and parking rates are very reasonable at €5 and €9 a day respectively and the minibar prices are almost a bargain; €3.50 for a large bottled beer. The bathroom is light and spacious, with white tiled floors and an excellent shower. The aircon is possibly the best I have ever experienced, cooling the room from 27 C to 20 C in less than 5 minutes - but then it was small. Also, the windows opened in both bedroom and bathroom which personally, I love. I much prefer fresh air to recycled, dried out aircon! The old town is a ten minute walk and there are plenty of eateries within the same distance. I didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel as I ate out with local colleagues but the menu, wine list and ambience all looked very good. Overall though, the thing that stayed with me was how helpful all the staff were... this is a very friendly hotel - recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel far exceeded expectations. From very friendly and helpful staff to ample space within the hotel room to beautiful restaurant, bar and patio areas - the hotel is very well done. Sure, wi-fi costs €5/24 hours but free Internet is available for guests at a computer in the lobby. The hotel is tucked back a touch off one of the main roads, but you can only hear the occasional car passing on the immediate road in front of the hotel. Didn't interfere with our sleep at all, even though we had the window open.

The centre of town is a little over 5 minutes' walk from the hotel. We headed there for breakfast, which was easy to find with the variety of cafes, restaurants. and bakeries.

It's a great spot if you're looking for something just on the edge of the action, but within easy reach of it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgworld15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The desk staff was wonderful, they printed our Rhine River Tickets that we forgot.

The rooms are very well appointed, but can be stuffy with the windows closed. Breakfast was over a little early at 1000 on a Sunday, but yummy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonCJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Helpful and friendly reception, spacious, well appointed room, free fast Internet, reasonable parking fee (€8 per day)
Exellent location for exploring Wiesbaden by foot.
If there would be a coffee / tea making facility in the room, it would be perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin-Felixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

European hotels have a very different feel from those typically found in the USA- there is a focus on customer service and a history associate with each hotel.

This hotel is no exception. Located a few hundred yard from the town center, it is nicely situated to allow for quick and easy trips around by foot.

The breakfast buffet is very good, filled with multiple choices- of course it is fresh and well presented.

As for dinner- it is great from a convenience standpoint, but you may fair better taking the few steps into town.

Rooms are tight- both the bathroom and sleeping area. If you visit in the summer, there is no air conditioning.

I would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlobel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hotel Oranien is an amazing property with a quite friendly and attentitive staff. We found the staff to provide above & beyond service with great pleasure. My husband and I were traveling on a leisure trip and after he left back to the US, it turned into a business trip for me. Food was excellent. Wine and beer selections excellent. We were able to enjoy dinner one evening on the patio, which was romantic by candlelight. You do need to walk into town - however, the walk is just a couple of blocks before you hit the shops and sights. We did not mind walking. We met friends for dinner at Kafer in the Kurhaus and it took us about 15 minutes to walk there. My husband and I stayed at another property across from the Kurhaus before staying at the Hotel Oranien. When we return to Wiesbaden - we will be staying at the Hotel Oranien. Rooms, Staff, Food, Wine - overall experience - Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel was PERFECT! The whole reception staff was incredible. ESPECIALLY Gabriele. They took the time to recommend places to us, helped guide us with maps, told us what bus routes to take, scheduled a shuttle service for us and more!!! The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and they always made sure we had everything we needed. It was in perfect walking distance of the town centre, shopping, bus stops and restuarants. I would and WILL without a doubt stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apickle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klemm
Hotel Klemm
#2 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#6 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.9 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#7 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town Hotel Wiesbaden
Town Hotel Wiesbaden
#3 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oranien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oranien

Address: Platter Strasse 2, 65193 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oranien 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oranien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing