We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising gem of a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oranien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oranien to your Saves list
Hotel Oranien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platter Strasse 2, 65193 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A surprising gem of a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel far exceeded expectations. From very friendly and helpful staff to ample space within the hotel room to beautiful restaurant, bar and patio areas - the hotel is very well done. Sure, wi-fi costs €5/24 hours but free Internet is available for guests at a computer in the lobby. The hotel is tucked back a touch off one of the main roads, but you can only hear the occasional car passing on the immediate road in front of the hotel. Didn't interfere with our sleep at all, even though we had the window open.

The centre of town is a little over 5 minutes' walk from the hotel. We headed there for breakfast, which was easy to find with the variety of cafes, restaurants. and bakeries.

It's a great spot if you're looking for something just on the edge of the action, but within easy reach of it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
28
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The desk staff was wonderful, they printed our Rhine River Tickets that we forgot.

The rooms are very well appointed, but can be stuffy with the windows closed. Breakfast was over a little early at 1000 on a Sunday, but yummy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Helpful and friendly reception, spacious, well appointed room, free fast Internet, reasonable parking fee (€8 per day)
Exellent location for exploring Wiesbaden by foot.
If there would be a coffee / tea making facility in the room, it would be perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

European hotels have a very different feel from those typically found in the USA- there is a focus on customer service and a history associate with each hotel.

This hotel is no exception. Located a few hundred yard from the town center, it is nicely situated to allow for quick and easy trips around by foot.

The breakfast buffet is very good, filled with multiple choices- of course it is fresh and well presented.

As for dinner- it is great from a convenience standpoint, but you may fair better taking the few steps into town.

Rooms are tight- both the bathroom and sleeping area. If you visit in the summer, there is no air conditioning.

I would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hotel Oranien is an amazing property with a quite friendly and attentitive staff. We found the staff to provide above & beyond service with great pleasure. My husband and I were traveling on a leisure trip and after he left back to the US, it turned into a business trip for me. Food was excellent. Wine and beer selections excellent. We were able to enjoy dinner one evening on the patio, which was romantic by candlelight. You do need to walk into town - however, the walk is just a couple of blocks before you hit the shops and sights. We did not mind walking. We met friends for dinner at Kafer in the Kurhaus and it took us about 15 minutes to walk there. My husband and I stayed at another property across from the Kurhaus before staying at the Hotel Oranien. When we return to Wiesbaden - we will be staying at the Hotel Oranien. Rooms, Staff, Food, Wine - overall experience - Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel was PERFECT! The whole reception staff was incredible. ESPECIALLY Gabriele. They took the time to recommend places to us, helped guide us with maps, told us what bus routes to take, scheduled a shuttle service for us and more!!! The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and they always made sure we had everything we needed. It was in perfect walking distance of the town centre, shopping, bus stops and restuarants. I would and WILL without a doubt stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed two nights in Autumn 2011. The staff were very nice and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable with a nice fluffy duvet (something I find a lot of European hotel rooms don't have!), room service was very nice (I had the wiener schnitzel) and the breakfast buffet was second to none.

Room Tip: My room was on the 3rd (top) floor and sometimes had to duck under the eaves when walking around in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-O-C-G, Inhaber at Hotel Oranien, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We appreciate your comments and are happy to read that you enjoyed the service and food quality (especially our Wiener Schnitzel) you have experienced in our hotel.

It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back at the Hotel Oranien Wiesbaden during your next visit in town.

Kind regards

Gerald Kink
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oranien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oranien

Address: Platter Strasse 2, 65193 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oranien 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Oranien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oranien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.