We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Weisbaden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kranzplatz 12, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location in Weisbaden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at the Schwarzer Bock early in the afternoon an were warmly greeted by
EG an the staff at the front desk. They immediately tried to upsell us on our
reservation and when they learned that we were potential long term guests they
made a lot of promises that were not kept. We could only stay there for a week
because there was a conference scheduled for two days so we couldn't unpack for a
long term stay but they offered to keep our bags and find us a different hotel
in the meantime but they were unsuccessful so we found our own at the Hotel
Oranien which is where we ended up staying for our long term stay...Upon
checkout of the Schwarzer Bock when they found out we would not be returning all
the promises they were going to throw in to win our long term stay there were
magically on our bill! We were forced to overpay on our room rate and parking which was very expensive. Besides the fact that this hotel nickel and dimes you it definitely has great
hospitality! The staff is excellent and very friendly they all went above and beyond when they could. The housekeeping department could do a little more though we had some crumbs on the floor and coffee table in our room which needed to be vacuumed up and even though they came in and cleaned the crumbs still stayed there...The breakfast is great lots of choices, the rooms are spacious, the spa is very nice but watch out for old naked European ladies in the spa and definitely make sure you nail down your room rate before you check in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    100
    57
    20
    9
See reviews for
39
80
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We held a conference here in October 2012 with many VIP's and the staff at this hotel went above and beyond in every capacity. The facilities were fantastic; always clean and despite the age very well cared for. Food was prepared to perfection, even when serving over 100 guests or providing snacks in between conference sessions. Getting rooms ready and prepping for last minute changes never fazed them. It seemed as though the hotel staff has as much invested as the conference staff and because of this I would highly recommend using this hotel for conferences, events and even just a casual stay in Wiesbaden.
The general manager, events coordinator and even the IT manager were all equally friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the location fantastic. Right in the center of Wiesbaden, you are within walking distance to everything. Although the prices are a little bit high, the quality of the service and product is well worth it. I will definitely be staying here again, whenever I am in the area!

Room Tip: Street rooms can be a bit loud with windows open only. If you like fresh air but don't like all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Madam,
dera Sir,
thank you very much for the kind feedback you gave.
We all very proud, to read such comment and it gives us the confident,that we on the right track with our service and product.
All the best for you and hope to see you soon in Wiesbaden
Sincerely yours W.Wagner and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This Hotel is situated in the middle of Wiesbaden close to the shopping area and Casino. The lobby area is small but very frienndly staff welcome you. The rooms are pleasant although the shower in bath was little challanging. Nice flat screen TV and comfy beds. Large breakfast buffet. Parking is a challange but they will park the car for you if you ask the concierge.

Room Tip: Street view, windows are well issilated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again as our guest!


Sincerely,


Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great location in Wiesbaden, close to walking area, shops, parks and attractions. Hotel staff extremely friendly and will make everything possible to make your stay an enjoyable one. Room are very clean. Beautiful pool, with access to steam bat and sauna. The only negative thing was the fact that there was no gym.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor away from the main street, so it was quieter than the one on main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again as our guest!

Sincerely

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It’s long overdue I say something about my favorite hotel in Wiesbaden, Germany, the “Radisson Blue Schwarzer Bock Hotel”. Before Radisson bought it, it was simply called “Hotel Schwarzer Bock”. I have stayed here many times over the years when visiting my German family and it never disappointed me.

The hotel is located in the centre of the city, at the beginning of large a pedestrian zone, and is just around the corner from sites like the Kurhaus (opera house) it’s beautiful large park, the State Theatre, the Casino and more. One of my favorite activities is to go downstairs and walk all over town sightseeing, shopping, have breakfast/lunch or a cup of coffee and a piece of that great German cake at one of the oldest established Café’s, “Der Maldaner”, which celebrated it’s 150 year anniversary a year or so ago. Sitting at one of their sidewalk tables and talking with the locals is a lot of fun and gives inside into their life’s. Many speak English well.

I also love their Spa, the breakfast bar offering everything my little heart desires and the excellent, personal and very friendly service by their personnel.

When ready to go home to the States, I usually take a taxi to the Frankfurt airport for the hotel’s special pre-arranged flat fee of €38.00.

The best room rates can be found when booking online at: http://www.radissonblu.com/hotel-wiesbaden

I was born and raised in Wiesbaden. If you want some local info, send me an email and I gladly tell you all I know. Please put “Wiesbaden” in the reference box.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel – again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the “Schwarzer Bock” in the near future.

Sincerely
Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisbech
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived in the hotel in Wiesbaden with a family of 5 and had booked 2 adjoining reviews. The staff working behind the desk were very helpful, knowledgable and welcoming and immediately helped us to our rooms. The car valet service was also very good. The adjoining rooms were layed out in the room of a flatlet which helped give us great privacy. The rooms were spacious and cleaned thoroughly and the mini bar was reasonably stocked. The bathrooms were clean and well sized. The only negatives of the stays were the bed which were hard and slightly warn and were not in keeping with the standards of the room. The carpets were also slightly worn. However the biggest dissapointment was the pool. If you are planning on staying and using the pool facilities do not come with high expectations. On the website the picture makes the pool look of a decent size however in reality it is more of a glorified bathtub. Overall though I would have no hesitation going back or advising close friends or family to stay at the hotel as the overall pricing was good value for money.

Room Tip: If you are a family ask for the adjoining room as it is like having a contained flatlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding to your stay at our house.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at all.

We are looking forward to welcome you as our guest in future.

Sincerely,

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

In a great location right in the city.
We had booked a larger room on a high floor with a front view. On arriving at our room we had one on the 1st floor small and looking onto a courtyard. This was not the upgrade we had paid for. I immediately dicussed this with the receptionist who eventually gave us the room we had paid for. We then asked for extra pillows only one each and we usually sleep with two. We had to request these pillows three times before someone eventually brought them to our room.
The room was very comfortable once we got it and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast not the best selection and the dinning room did not appear to have air conditioning as it was exterely hot and not a pleasant place to have breakfast
The hotel was busy but this was no excuse for the service we received. I was pleased we were only staying there for one night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your open feedback to your stay at our house.
Please be sure that we refer your feedback to the different department managers.

We hope to welcome you the next time to host you again as our guest.

Sincerely,

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oranien
Hotel Oranien
#1 of 46 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#6 of 46 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#7 of 46 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden
Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden
#5 of 46 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klemm
Hotel Klemm
#2 of 46 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
1.9 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#12 of 46 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel

Address: Kranzplatz 12, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wiesbaden
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
#10 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel in Wiesbaden, the oldest grand hotel in Europe and home to a historic bathhouse and spa. The luxury hotel boasts an eventful history going back to 1486. The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel is located in the centre of Wiesbaden, the capital of the region of Hesse. Its excellent location on Kranzplatz square allows the guest to explore the city by foot. Saunter along Wilhelmstrasse, Wiesbaden's magnificent boulevard, or visit the numerous attractions, such as the Kurhaus, Casino, or Hessian State Theatre, which are all just a stone's throw away. Frankfurt International Airport is located 28 km from the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, which is approx. a 30-minutes drive. The Hotel is also easily accessed by public transport. ROOMS & SUITES The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, Wiesbaden has 142 rooms and suites, which combine a traditional atmosphere and timeless elegance with modern technology. Choose from one of our four room categories: Classic, Superior Class, Business Class and Suites. Enjoy the unique charm of our historic hotel. All room have air-conditioning and Internet access included. The Business Class rooms offer the following additional amenities: a complimentary gift upon arrival, a daily newspaper, bathrobe, free TV entertainment program, a Nespresso(R) coffee machine with a selection of specialty coffees as well as the "Super Breakfast" buffet in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne". RESTAURANT & BAR Bistro-Bar 1486 The Bistro-Bar 1486 combines traditional with modern architecture as well as regional and international cuisine. A relaxed bar atmosphere and historic flair gives the Bistro-Bar 1486 a unique feel. Whether you are in the mood for an exquisite menu or just want to round a successful day off with a glass of fine wine, our Bistro-Bar has everything you could possibly wish for. Restaurant ,,Le Capricorne" Start the day in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne" and enjoy a varied breakfast buffet. The elegance and charm of our restaurant provides the perfect setting for your breakfast,lunch and dinner, making it an ideal venue for celebrations, weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.