We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Wiesbaden, Germany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kranzplatz 12, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Wiesbaden, Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It’s long overdue I say something about my favorite hotel in Wiesbaden, Germany, the “Radisson Blue Schwarzer Bock Hotel”. Before Radisson bought it, it was simply called “Hotel Schwarzer Bock”. I have stayed here many times over the years when visiting my German family and it never disappointed me.

The hotel is located in the centre of the city, at the beginning of large a pedestrian zone, and is just around the corner from sites like the Kurhaus (opera house) it’s beautiful large park, the State Theatre, the Casino and more. One of my favorite activities is to go downstairs and walk all over town sightseeing, shopping, have breakfast/lunch or a cup of coffee and a piece of that great German cake at one of the oldest established Café’s, “Der Maldaner”, which celebrated it’s 150 year anniversary a year or so ago. Sitting at one of their sidewalk tables and talking with the locals is a lot of fun and gives inside into their life’s. Many speak English well.

I also love their Spa, the breakfast bar offering everything my little heart desires and the excellent, personal and very friendly service by their personnel.

When ready to go home to the States, I usually take a taxi to the Frankfurt airport for the hotel’s special pre-arranged flat fee of €38.00.

The best room rates can be found when booking online at: http://www.radissonblu.com/hotel-wiesbaden

I was born and raised in Wiesbaden. If you want some local info, send me an email and I gladly tell you all I know. Please put “Wiesbaden” in the reference box.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel – again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the “Schwarzer Bock” in the near future.

Sincerely
Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    86
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
34
67
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wisbech
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived in the hotel in Wiesbaden with a family of 5 and had booked 2 adjoining reviews. The staff working behind the desk were very helpful, knowledgable and welcoming and immediately helped us to our rooms. The car valet service was also very good. The adjoining rooms were layed out in the room of a flatlet which helped give us great privacy. The rooms were spacious and cleaned thoroughly and the mini bar was reasonably stocked. The bathrooms were clean and well sized. The only negatives of the stays were the bed which were hard and slightly warn and were not in keeping with the standards of the room. The carpets were also slightly worn. However the biggest dissapointment was the pool. If you are planning on staying and using the pool facilities do not come with high expectations. On the website the picture makes the pool look of a decent size however in reality it is more of a glorified bathtub. Overall though I would have no hesitation going back or advising close friends or family to stay at the hotel as the overall pricing was good value for money.

Room Tip: If you are a family ask for the adjoining room as it is like having a contained flatlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding to your stay at our house.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at all.

We are looking forward to welcome you as our guest in future.

Sincerely,

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

In a great location right in the city.
We had booked a larger room on a high floor with a front view. On arriving at our room we had one on the 1st floor small and looking onto a courtyard. This was not the upgrade we had paid for. I immediately dicussed this with the receptionist who eventually gave us the room we had paid for. We then asked for extra pillows only one each and we usually sleep with two. We had to request these pillows three times before someone eventually brought them to our room.
The room was very comfortable once we got it and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast not the best selection and the dinning room did not appear to have air conditioning as it was exterely hot and not a pleasant place to have breakfast
The hotel was busy but this was no excuse for the service we received. I was pleased we were only staying there for one night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your open feedback to your stay at our house.
Please be sure that we refer your feedback to the different department managers.

We hope to welcome you the next time to host you again as our guest.

Sincerely,

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an old German City hotel with a lot of history and charm. Very good beds and big spacious rooms. OK buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding to your stay.
We are happy that you had a pleasent stay with us.

We are looking forward to hist you again as our guest.

Sincereley,

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Needs a bit more effort to come up to and keep up to decades of reputation. Service is mostly very friendly but there are exceptions. Spa and sauna aereas rather small considering outside guest access. Breakfast buffet very good but not really extraordinary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed in a junior suite (with breakfast) for a weekend and it was quite nice. The furniture seemed a little shabby, but every thing else was fine. I loved the pool fed by the hot springs! Breakfast was a very nice buffet. We were tourists and could walk all over downtown Wiesbaden from there. It was just lovely. The staff was quite friendly and helpful, which I especially appreciated because I don't speak German.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest

thank you so much for your feedback!
I am happy to read, that you had a nice stay in our hotel Schwarzer Bock and hope to welcome you again as guest in the future!

Yours sincerely

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel itself is just kind of average. I didn't get a chance to check out their spa, which is probably their leading attribute. But the beds were just awful. It felt like I was sleeping on a wood mattress, but less comfortable than that.

Room Tip: Have them give you a roll-in mattress. A friend slept on that and wasn't as dissatisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest

first of all I want to thank you for your feedback!
I want to apologize for the circumstances in your room but I am happy to tell you, that we are planning a completely room renovation in the next time.
I am looking forward to welcome you then in our Schwarzer Bock again!

Yours sincerely

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel

Address: Kranzplatz 12, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wiesbaden
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
#11 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel in Wiesbaden, the oldest grand hotel in Europe and home to a historic bathhouse and spa. The luxury hotel boasts an eventful history going back to 1486. The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel is located in the centre of Wiesbaden, the capital of the region of Hesse. Its excellent location on Kranzplatz square allows the guest to explore the city by foot. Saunter along Wilhelmstrasse, Wiesbaden's magnificent boulevard, or visit the numerous attractions, such as the Kurhaus, Casino, or Hessian State Theatre, which are all just a stone's throw away. Frankfurt International Airport is located 28 km from the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, which is approx. a 30-minutes drive. The Hotel is also easily accessed by public transport. ROOMS & SUITES The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, Wiesbaden has 142 rooms and suites, which combine a traditional atmosphere and timeless elegance with modern technology. Choose from one of our four room categories: Classic, Superior Class, Business Class and Suites. Enjoy the unique charm of our historic hotel. All room have air-conditioning and Internet access included. The Business Class rooms offer the following additional amenities: a complimentary gift upon arrival, a daily newspaper, bathrobe, free TV entertainment program, a Nespresso(R) coffee machine with a selection of specialty coffees as well as the "Super Breakfast" buffet in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne". RESTAURANT & BAR Bistro-Bar 1486 The Bistro-Bar 1486 combines traditional with modern architecture as well as regional and international cuisine. A relaxed bar atmosphere and historic flair gives the Bistro-Bar 1486 a unique feel. Whether you are in the mood for an exquisite menu or just want to round a successful day off with a glass of fine wine, our Bistro-Bar has everything you could possibly wish for. Restaurant ,,Le Capricorne" Start the day in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne" and enjoy a varied breakfast buffet. The elegance and charm of our restaurant provides the perfect setting for your breakfast,lunch and dinner, making it an ideal venue for celebrations, weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.