We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chookdee Thai

Restaurant Chookdee Thai
Spiegelgasse 3, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
0611 305840
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 463 Restaurants in Wiesbaden
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place has good food, great atmosphere, high prices. Usually quite crowded, so reservation is recommended.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Having had some disappointing meals recently at a Thai restaurant we used to go to (the Royal Orchid), we decided to give this place a try. We were very impressed.
We had a squid salad, duck with cashew nuts and the spicy crisp duck with cauliflower and broccoli. Everything was well-balanced and absolutely wonderful and the portions were generous. (A word of warning though: if you are not keen on spicy food, take the ratings on the menu seriously - three chillies mean 'very spicy' indeed.)
The prices are perhaps a little bit higher than at other Thai places in the area, but the extra Euro or two are well spent. Service was very friendly and efficient. We left having found a new favourite amongst the Thai restaurants in Wiesbaden. Unfortunately, we did not manage to return last weekend, because the Chookdee was fully booked. Reservations are probably essential even on weekdays, because the premises are quite small.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Visited Chookdee Thai last week and had a very good meal.

The restaurant is relatively small with a split of seated tables and also an 'no shoe area' where you sit on the floor, quite nice I thought. Really nice interior.

The food was pretty good, tasty and plentiful. I went for a mixed sharing platter to start, which was OK. Followed by fried king prawns (extra spicy) for main which was great.

I would say for Thai food it's on the 'higher' end of cost when eating out in Germany.

Worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent food, normally priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I had dinner in this restaurant due to the opinions in tripadvisor and I was a bit disappointed. I had a coco soup (ok) and a "classic" thai - chicken basil which was much more spicy than basil. Anyway, the food is ok, regularly priced but it is far from "better than Thailand" as some opinions say.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The interior is awesome -- hand carved, authentic looks from Thailand. Limited seating, would make a reservation. You can even sit on these cool bench/floor pillows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chookdee Thai also viewed

 
Wiesbaden, Hesse
 

Been to Restaurant Chookdee Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chookdee Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.