We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chookdee Thai

Restaurant Chookdee Thai
Spiegelgasse 3, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
0611 305840
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 474 Restaurants in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Loved This Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have been to Wiesbaden many, many times since we have family there. This was our first time visiting this restaurant and I can't believe we have not tried it before. We ended up eating there every other night. The food was amazing and the service was top notch. We tried a little of everything, and could not find a single bad dish. I would highly recommend this place on your next visit to Wiesbaden.

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Food was outstanding. Service excellent. Atmosphere wonderful. I would suggest reservations if going on a weekend. Spicing on all dishes was sublime. Overall a wonderful experience!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty not too spicy. Real genuine flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Sat at typical Thailand tables. No shoes. If you like also European tables and chairs available. Food we chose the mixed starter the soup and duck and chicken main dishes. Really tasty and service excellent with lots of time to help in choice of food. short wine list but good Spanish red to accompany the rich well flavoured food at only 22 Euro a bottle. So if you like to taste real flavours from Thailand try this restaurant. Overall for a dinner for two expect to pay just under Euro 100 with wine and water. You will not leave hungry but looking forward to taste such flavours again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Feel like you are in Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the best restaurant in town if you like Thai food. Friends say it is better than food in Thailand. Small, so reservations are needed but they speak perfect English, reasonable prices and make fabulous green curry!

Visited March 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I highly recommend Restaurant Chookdee Thai.

My wife and I visited Chookdee Thai for a late lunch on a Sunday. The interior was beautifully decorated with wooden paneling and ceilings. The Thai art throughout was tastefully done. A very nice place to relax and eat a meal. The service was excellent. Very friendly, and very fast. Our waitress, Tong, spoke perfect English and German. Great job!

We ordered drinks: my wife had the Thai iced tea, which I recommend. I had the Singha beer (you have to drink Thai beer with Thai food, right? In fact, I had two beers, just to make sure I liked them.) We had fried spring rolls, satay prawn skewers, and Laab Gai (chicken salad) for appetizers. The prawns were large, and were accompanied with peanut and sweet vinegar sauce. The spring rolls were piping hot and were accompanied with sweet and sour sauce. The chicken salad was spiced just right, and filled with fresh lettuce, basil, mint, and cilantro. Awesome.

I had the chicken fried rice for the main course. There were large pieces of tender chicken and lots of vegetables in the rice. The flavor was mild and tasty. My wife had a curry beef dish (#75) that was very nice. Everything was fresh and delicious. Since we had three appetizers, we had to take most of our portions to go. We were quite satisfied.

For all that, we paid about 67 Euro, which wasn't bad considering all we had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chookdee Thai also viewed

 
Wiesbaden, Hesse
 

Been to Restaurant Chookdee Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chookdee Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.