We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Wiesbaden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos

Mykonos
Kleiststrasse 1, 65187 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
0611 / 84 19 68
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 460 Restaurants in Wiesbaden
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Mondsee, Austria
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best meal in Wiesbaden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

After a few mediocre meals we ended up at Mykonos and had the best food we had in Wiesbaden. Fresh ingredients, lovely fetah, great meats, nice wine, fantastic recommendations and friendly service.

It seems like everyone who came in was a friend or regular guest which tells me we aren't the only ones who like it there, people keep coming back. Highly recommended despite the fact that it's a bit outside the city center. Worth the extra effort to get there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Where you are a welcome guest, not just another customer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We just got home from this establishment, so impressed I was that I had to comment right away. The restaurant is a small, homey place - appearance is nothing remarkable, but who cares? We ordered the large appetizer platter where we were treated to a delightful sampling of Greek starters. The Tzatziki was the best we had ever had - rich, cool, and flavourful, the stuffed grape leaves were perfect, and the surprise delight was the tender and succulent octopus (there was more, but I only have so much space). My husband had the grill platter, full of juicy and well seasoned meats: chicken, lamb, and beef with perfectly crisp tender potatoes. I had the Mousaka, the best I have EVER eaten. It was a perfect balance of flavours, savory and sweet with perfectly textured potatoes and custard.

The service was excellent. The staff were delightful, friendly, and treated us like we were friends rather than just another table. We were encouraged to enjoy ourselves, take our time, and relax. He seemed genuinely pleased that we wanted our leftovers to go. "Then you will remember us when you eat again tomorrow, yes?" Absolutely we will! Mykonos is going to be our "go to" night out, no question.

The prices were very reasonable; a bargain, really, considering the quality. For appetizers, 2 meals, beers, and a soft drink for 2... we spent just over €60.

Parking was a bit dodgy - admittedly, but it was so worth it. (Even then, they went above and beyond by coming out and guiding us out of our space - which had gotten blocked up while we were inside)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“The Genuine Article”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went here last week for the first time. The restaurant is reassuringly old-fashioned and we had a very friendly welcome from the waiters. We ordered a Greek salad, lamb 'juwetzi' and the Mykonos gyros (with pitta). The salad was not the greatest ever, but the rest was very good indeed. They also have a reasonably priced selection of wines, many of them Greek.
The grill is in a glass booth inside the restaurant, so you can watch your food being prepared. Many of our fellow guests were clearly regulars - and we are also likely to come back here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very good Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Food is great and service is wonderful. The octopus special is always good and so are the meat dishes. One negative thing I would say is, parking! It is so hard to find parking there...it is hit and miss on the street.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“EXCEPTIONAL!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The food and staff here are outstanding. The one restaurant in Germany that is a must for me whenever I visit is Mykono

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mykonos also viewed

 
Wiesbaden, Hesse
 

Been to Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.