We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive & friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stadt Frankfurt

Stadt Frankfurt
Marktstr. 30, Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
06722-47981
Improve this listing
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
northern England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Festive & friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited this within 15 mins of arriving from our coach ready for the Christmas markets, having read a lot about the " Ruedesheim coffee". We were the early customers & the waiter was lovely, made us feel welcome & answered our many questions about the restaurant, of course I had the coffee & can honestly say that it was as good ( & more) as the reviews & my expectations, certainly warmed you up ready for the shopping, :) Infact it was so good we returned later in the day, managed to get a table & had a late lunch there which was also good - pickled beef, red cabbage & dumplings, the dumplings were different to what I had imagined, I had imagined the texture to be the same as the UK, Caribbean ones but were still OK, my daughter had the goose leg which just fell off the bone. :) Of course I had another coffee, (be rude not to have done) & my daughter had the black forest gateux, which was really yummy. If I go to Ruedesheim again I will visit without a doubt, & probably have 2 coffee's thoughout the day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“3 Days of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The only reason this resurtant received an excellent is because there is no outstanding. The wait staff makes you feel at home and the food is so good reminds me of my grandmothers. In fact we kept going back it was so good. When we visit again we will be dining here again. Thanks for the great memories.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Restaurant on the main street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Restaurant where my husband and I ate on our last evening in Rüdesheim-am-Rhein. Great atmosphere, great food. See the restaurant lit up at night as many people just came to take photos. You had to get there early to get a table as popular.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Recomended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

wonderfull Place for any guest. The Food has his Own Taste. The Schweinshaxe is a muss here. Service and priceses are perfect as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Great local flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We ducked into Stadt Frankfurt on a rainy night during the Christmas Markets, wanting respite from the cold and a good meal. We certainly got both!

We were greeted at the door by a charming man who seated us in the cozy main dining room. Our server was a young woman who spoke excellent English and guided us through our choices for the evening. My choice was pork chops, saurcraut, and potatoes as I was looking for good local fare. The potatoes were quite possibly the creamiest and best I have ever enjoyed. The saurcraut was plentiful. My husband hand schnitzel and was happy as well. We shared a bottle of Seigfried Rhine Wine, very good and surprsingly inexpensive.

After sharing a dessert of a waffle and berries (very delicious) we decided to have the local speciality, Rudesheim Coffee. You must have it! Our server brought a tray of cups, coffee, Ausbach, sugar, and cream to our table and prepared the coffee while we watched in eager anticipation. The coffee is absolutely wonderful, especially on a cold and rainy evening.

It was clear by observation that this place is not only a favorite of tourists, but of locals as well. Several guests were greeted at the door with a hug, something I did not see often in Germany! The atmosphere was so warm and friendly, I can highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stadt Frankfurt also viewed

Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse
 
Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse
Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse
 

Been to Stadt Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadt Frankfurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.