We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was absolutely faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudesheimer Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rudesheimer Hof to your Saves list
Rudesheimer Hof
Geisenheimerstrasse 1, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“This hotel was absolutely faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We returned to Rudesheim where we stayed in our fifth hotel in the town. I have to say that the Rudesheimer Hof is by far the best hotel in Rudesheim. It was clean, comfortable, friendly, the rooms were spacious, the bathroom was easyily the best we have experienced in Rudesheim and the towels were vastly superior to what you normally get in Germany. Rudesheim is a great place for a relaxing time, although with the superb display of the Rhine in Flames it was busy on the weekend. The only noise was the night they beat Argentina when car horns were sounding until midnight. The night before we left they lost to Spain and it was areally quiet night. TRY THIS HOTEL. It will be well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    47
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
53
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We flew into Frankfurt at 6 AM and headed for the hotel, about 45 minutes from airport. They took our luggage while we headed for the 9 AM boat to tour the castles on the Rhein. This turned out to be a great idea, being outside all day as we were tired from the flight (landing at midnight EST). My suggestion, you go to Boppard for lunch, back to St. Goar to visit the Reinfels Castle and take the train to Bingen Sud (2nd station) to get
the ferry accros to Rudesheim. Should be back by 5.
The owners were very nice, The restaurant is as good as any in town. There are airconditioned rooms, which you need to ask for when you check in. Stay away with rooms on the main street, can be very loud early in the morning. They switched our room with no hassle. Would stay there again. The trip up the gondola with th circle ticket was a lot of fun..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I travelled to the Rhein area with my husband and two 9 year olds. I liked the beauty of the area and the idea of the restaurant row with its charm and music. Then I saw a few posts about music going late into the night beyond the time most people go to bed. I realized I would prefer to stay at a charming hotel just a few blocks away from the revelry---the best of both worlds. Rudesheimer Hoff was it!

All you have to do is walk in the front door and you see the charm and the friendliness. This is a family run hotel, the person behind the desk takes tremendous pride in making sure your needs are met and exceeded. We were given directions to places which seemed far to us....and were 4 blocks away, and the person who helped us, frequently the owner, was as kind and encouraging as if we were going on a long journey.

The rooms were bright, cheery, spacious, spotlessly clean, many have slanted ceilings that made it very charming. The bathrooms & windows modern. A small elevator exists (European size/style), and a number of the rooms have air conditioning (ours did and it worked well). Our room came with a queen bed & single bed in one spacious room plus a small alcove (twin bed) with a door between the two. Our son was very happy to have his "own" room (the alcove).

The breakfast was served as a buffet, many kinds of cheese, cold cuts, cereals, and delicious breads, jams, fresh squeezed juices, hot chocolate (the real thing), in a quiet dining room with wide beams and pretty windows.

This atmosphere is not a place for a child under 6 years of age, but my two 9 year olds enjoyed it very much and were not out of place and were made to feel welcome. English was not a problem and everyone there was very friendly. If you need TV or a phone in your room, you should check on whether that is availalbe, but there was wireless in the lobby.

Note there is an easy adventure involving taking a chair lift up a vineyard to a large monument above the Rheine, then a 1-2 mile lovely, easy (flat paths) walk through some vinyards and woods, and then a chairlift down the other side, and a brief 10 minute ferry ride on the Rheine river, to return you to Rudesheim. You buy a combination ticket and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Germany, suggested to us by the owner of Rudesheimer Hof.


Last two points: if you are thinking about staying in Rudesheim: no one talks about this but nearly every hotel in Rudesheim (this and a few others are exceptions) are on the strip of the lane where all the restaurants are. It is a very exciting place with all sorts of restaurants, live music, passersby for people watching, etc. The train runs right through this area, in fact the train rails are basically the main street, with the actual main street and sidewalk running parallel only 20 feet from the tracks, right in front of and right behind the hotels and restaurants. The train goes through this area 4-5/day...and all night. It is VERY VERY LOUD and had I booked near the "fun part” of town, I could not have stayed. Beware (or bring earplugs). Because the Rudesheimer Hof was a few blocks away, there was no noise so we were able to enjoy the restaurant area, yet could sleep undisturbed by the trains by being a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We greatly enjoyed the hospitality of the owner-managers and the considerate, personal and thoroughly professional service. Our room was spacious, well equipped and spotless. The restaurant is among the best in town, presenting regional cuisine with an innovative touch as well as international fare. The hotel is located on a central but busy and sometimes noisy street, and it does not offer great views. Then again, since the railroad tracks and the main thoroughfare run right along the scenic banks of the Rhine, any place in Rüdesheim will involve some compromise between view, noise and central location. For foodies, the main downside at the otherwise great restaurant is the somewhat limited choice of wines. If you are travelling to the Rheingau for the wine, maybe the Krone Assmanshausen or Breuer's Rüdesheimer Schloss might be better for you. Then again, everything is within walking distance anyway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I stayed here with eight friends for four nights in late April 2009 and was delighted with the service and food. The owners are very involved in the daily operation of the hotel which has been in the family since the late 1700's. The hotel has an excellent chef and we loved the white asparagus soup, a seasonal offering on the menu. Great care is taken with the service, table linens and fresh flowers. The hoteliers assist in the training of enthusiastic young people and we especially enjoyed Florian and Dustin Hoffman (yes, that is truly his name).

The town is busy with many boats, trains and cars, but the hotel does a good job of maintaining a sense of peace amongst the busy local scene. From visiting other rooms, I found some of them renovated and updated and others a bit tired. You can request a recently renovated room. There are some with balconies but the busy streets throughout the town make sitting inside more attractive. There is also free parking available behind the hotel and an outdoor beer garden with fountain.

The owners offer invaluable assistance with special requests and touring information. The longer we stayed here, the more we enjoyed it. Hospitality is the greatest asset of the hotel and I would return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Stayed here every weekend for 4 weeks in September. The Heymach Family and their team run a brilliant small hotel just oozing with cozyness, which after staying in a large city centre hotel for my company was such a refreshing change. Nicely furnished rooms, very traditional but they look recently refurbished with en-suite shower/wc. Very unusual to get such personal attention; you can find the owners either in the kitchen or in the restaurant every day, never too much trouble for them to organize some trips for you and also to recommend some restaurants in the area to try---but you don't need to do that, they have a great restaurant on-site with some delicious food not normally found in this part of a meat-eaters paradise, like Thai spring rolls or swiss pasta filled with spinach and ricotta, plus a very good winelist with some well-known German winemakers at every reasonable prices. I sat in their covered outdoor terrace with a superb bottle of dry Riesling which went very well with my pasta and a superb, crisp fresh salad with a stunning dressing. Very well situated in the centre of town close to the park, sports facilities and the boat landing stage for trips down the rhine. Highly recommended and if you have a problem whilst you stay there just ask the owner Wilhelm Heymach to come out of the kitchen, sit down, open a bottle of wine, give him a glass and then all your problem's will be solved!

  • Liked — Personal service from the owners and a great team of staff.
  • Disliked — going back to my city centre hotel.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

I just stayed at the Rudesheimer Hof for the weekend. Herr and Frau Heymach run a cozy, clean inn that's also in a great location. I booked with halfboard, the breakfast buffet and the dinners were quite good. The service was excellent, and I was given very friendly treatment, and I don't speak German. Rudesheimer Hof is in a great location in the center of town, and very convenient to the Rhineland wineries. Parking is a little tight, but I was able to manage. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rudesheimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudesheimer Hof

Address: Geisenheimerstrasse 1, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rudesheimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudesheimer Hof Hotel Ruedesheim Am Rhein
Rudesheimer Hof Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudesheimer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.