We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel und Weinhaus Felsenkeller

Hotel und Weinhaus Felsenkeller
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel und Weinhaus Felsenkeller to your Saves list
Hotel und Weinhaus Felsenkeller
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oberstrasse 39-41, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brasschaat, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We just visited the hotel...during the low/dead periode between Christmas and New Year, so not so many things to do.
Very quite hotel, nice people. The hotel is old, the rooms are big, but you can hear not only the rooms next your but maybe the whole floor.
On halfpansion, although 3 services menu, you have no choice of the food, only the drinks, which are not for free. The breakfast is reasonable, but since a small restaurant the quiantities are very limited and some time you have to wait to have again the plats full with food.
No parking in the hotel! You have to use or the hotel parking situated -/+ 500meters from the hotel (closed but outside) or the public parkins. All parkings are not for free.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

stayed here for two nights during Christmas market. room was nice and had a partial view of market. room was clean, but dated. would like it to be decorated with more "rudesheim" theme - not 1970's. staff was some of the friendliest people I've come across in years. great parking next to hotel, but need they to send a map on how to get to it. I would never have thought I was allowed to drive were we did to get to the lot..

Room Tip: get directions on how to get to parking lot before you role into town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We could not get any closer to the christmas markets than by staying in the Hotel Felsenkeller, as to get into the hotel you had to pass between two of the Christmas Market stalls!. Lovely trip by train along the Rhein from cologne, and a lovely welcome in the Hotel. Nice big rooms, lovely and warm and comfortable beds. Would have like some extra pillows as the pillows provided were very soft. As it was my birthday weekend thought we would reserve a tabnle in the restaurant, but we wer very dissapointed in the Menu and actually ate elsewhere in the Town which was dissapointing as we wanted to give the Hotel our business. Would recommend the cable car trip, sorry we didnt have longer to stay and enjoy the countryside and wine some more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I travel frequently and it's the "little things" that make a difference. I can't tell you WHY this hotel is different and very special... the location ( right in the middle of everything), the people ( amazing staff) or just the wonderful town. First of all, don't miss this town - Rudesheim is probably the most wonderful town I've been to recently. Yes, touristy and filled with people from Japan, China, USA and 100 other countries but worth it ... The Hotel is so clean, well maintained and has a very friendly staff that you should not miss. The owner helped me with an internet connection problem. He went beyond the call of duty to help. Would I recommend this Hotel just on that - probably, as I've been to Hotels where you are just a credit card payment but there was more. I was traveling alone and not with my wife who is in a wheelchair and I will say that access for someone in a wheelchair would be very difficult. Once you're above the few steps to the elevator, all would be fine but those steps looked steep even to me ! Rooms are very large and mine had a beautiful view of a vineyard. Love the town - Love the Hotel - Love the staff... don't miss this place ! Not a 5 star hotel to me... more like 15 !!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to Rüdesheim to sample the excellent wines on offer and our second stay at the Hotel Felsenkeller. The hotel is located right in the heart of Rüdesheim adjacent to the cable car entrance - for which I strongly recommend a 'ring' ticket to take in nearby Assmannhausen and a boat trip on the Rhine.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and our room had a beautiful view over the vineyards. The beds are very comfortable albeit with an odd squishy pillow! Breakfast is a simple buffet that didn't disappoint. The great strength of the hotel however is the wonderful staff who go out of their way to help their guests.

One thing to bear in mind - some rooms overlook the nearby bars adjacent to the Drosselgasse which can be a bit noisy so make sure you ask for a room at the back if you want an early night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Myself, my husband and my parents stayed in the hotel from 2nd Setember till 7th September on a Parrys International coach tour. We had stayed in the hotel two years ago and thought it was good then. New owners have taken over the hotal and the standard is as good if not better than the last time we stayed. The food was fantastic and there was plenty of it, the rooms and all other areas were spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The owners were really nice people and also served in the restauant and on reception and worked as hard as the other staff. The hotel terrace overlooking the main street was open for food and drinks during the day and was a lovely place to sit and relax. We would definately visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I live just twenty minutes away from Rudesheim but were in desperate need of a STAY-cation. There were so many bonuses to this hotel. First of all, they have their own parking and it is only 5 euro daily. If you know anything about Germany, you will know that parking is extremely limited. The lot was about two blocks away from the front door and very convenient. The staff were very friendly and their English was good. The hotel is situated directly next to the cable car station. WE paid 13 euro for the CityRing tour and it was wonderful. There is a cable car ride to a scenic overlook with about a two mile walk with highlights along the way. Then there is another (but different) cable car ride and then a boat ride back to Rudesheim. AND (that is not all), the hotel has an awesome restaurant. The locations is also right on the pedestrian zone. So the shops and sights are right within walking distance. My husband who never shops actually bought some nutcrackers, a stein, and a pewter knight. Our window opened onto the street and there was no air conditioner. Even in July, we were comfortable and we slept well. We are not drinkers. So it was not from the alcohol. :-D

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel und Weinhaus Felsenkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel und Weinhaus Felsenkeller

Address: Oberstrasse 39-41, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel und Weinhaus Felsenkeller 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel und Weinhaus Felsenkeller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Und Weinhaus Felsenkeller Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel und Weinhaus Felsenkeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.