We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located in beautiful town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda to your Saves list
Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pauluspromenade 2, 36037 Fulda, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Fulda
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Well located in beautiful town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

90's modern hotel integrated in the schloss complex just k to the dom and the Altstadt. Great car parking facilities, easy to find from the ring road. Cosy bar and pool area. Great stopover in a nice city with many good restaurants and sightseeings.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim-Fulda, Manager at Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review and for spending the time on it.

We are delighted that you had such a great time with us and we could satisfy your expectations and desires. According to our philosophy we pursuing the common aim to do everything to make sure that our guests feel at home and they will always remember it with a smile.

For your next stay in Fulda we would glady recommend you one of our special packages. For more informations please do not hesitate and contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
18
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located right by the Schossgarten and near the Dom. The gardens are beautiful, and a short walk through them takes you right to Central Fulda. The Maritim is so close to the Cathedral that with our window open we felt as if we were at the Elton John concert, and on Sunday morning we could hear the Cathedral bells reminding is it was church time. It was pleasant during our stay, but imagine it could be uncomfortable without air conditioning at times.The room was adequate, but did not have a flat screen tv and only offered 2 free channels in English, both news channels. The biggest disappointment was in the lack of wifi; they advertise wifi (with a surcharge) but in actuality the room only has a T-Mobile hotspot, which we were unable to access because we didn't have a German number or US t-mobile. The room had wired internet access but since they advertised wifi we had not brought our computer. That was a major bummer. The front desk personnel were friendly and very helpful. The good from the restaurant was good, and the bar was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim-Fulda, Manager at Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your detailed evaluation which we were very pleased about.

The "Maritim Hotel am Schlossgarten“ is equally known and loved for its distinctive charm and the symbiosis of modern hotel building and the baroque Orangery. Therefore we are happy, that we could convince you with our beautiful and central location, as well with the special atmosphere of our house.

Unfortunately you have also made bad experiences with our WIFI, which we truly regret.
Please feel certain that we take the constructive criticism of our guests very seriously and are always striving to improve our service quality. So we are pleased to inform you that we have been offering our overnight guests free WiFi since January 2015.

For your next stay in Fulda, we would like to recommend you our package "Fulda Impressions". We are looking forward to your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for one night the room was clean and comfortable but let down as others have said by not having aircon or wifi. The best thing about the hotel is the location and quite spectacular ceiling mural in the dining room the breakfast was good with a wide range of delicious food and a lovely view out into the garden / park.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim-Fulda, Manager at Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your honest review.

Maritim Hotels are well known for their extensive and delicious breakfast buffets. We are pleased that you could enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of our baroque Apollo hall during you had a royal breakfast.
But we also regret that we have not succeeded in making your stay as pleasant as possible. As we constantly strive to fulfill the expectations and wishes of our guests, we offer our overnight guests free WiFi since January 2015.

We would appreciate if we can welcome you again at the "Maritim Hotel am Schlossgarten" on your next visit in Fulda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel one night on my way to another city. My room was clean and comfortable. Internet was available by cable only - no wi fi. This was fine for my lap top, but not useful for my iPad. More interesting are the surroundings. I visited the cathedral nearby, walked through the old palace gardens (Schlossgarten) and had dinner in a nice restaurant in the city center. Breakfast is served in a beautiful old ornate ball room. It was reasonably easy to drive to and park in the hotel under ground garage as well. Hotel is good as a base for business or to see the sights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim-Fulda, Manager at Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind evaluation.

We are delighted that you liked our beautiful and central location as well as the unique ambience of our Orangery so much.
Each feedback gives us the possibility to improve our service quality continuously and to optimize the internal procedures. As a result of these feedbacks we meanwhile have a free WIFI access in all rooms.

We hope you will come back very soon, cause we would like to welcome you again as a satisfied guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is very nicely located near the center of Fulda, nice park,
Rooms are good and clean, swimmingpool and sauna ok,
Excellent breakfast,
BUT when I arrived there on august 6 they informed me that for internet connection you have to pay ( telekom), tried that and it did ot work at all, employee says yes there is a problem, but we have a computer here in the lobby where you can go n google, tried this and it did not work either !
Until the evening worked, which is absolutely unacceptable.
I was invited for dinner by a friend in Hotel Goldener Karpfen just 1 km away and there the wifi worked perfectly well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim-Fulda, Manager at Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Dear Guest,

first of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your interest in our house, but also for your constructive criticisms.

As your host we feel committed to fulfil your expectations, but according to our mission statement we are anxious to exceed them.
Unfortunately we can not undo your experience with the internet connection, but we would like to apologize for all inadequateness you had during your stay in our hotel.
For your next stay at the "Maritim Hotel am Schlossgarten" you can be sure that you will have on each of our rooms a working and free WIFI access.

We would be delighted if you would give us the opportunity to prove that hospitality isn’t only a slogan for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Is this a business hotel?? With no WIFI? I stayed at hotels in the middel of nowhere and they still give WIFI.
No AC? In the middel of summer in 38C...
The pool is like your kids litte pool, not outside and just not what you expect at a hotel.
The "michelin" resturant was EMTY, seriusly is was just us...
The church bell RANG all day and night, and i mean like every 3 hours. I like a good preacher, but not at 3 AM!

Room Tip: Dont go here! We stayed at the first floor, "garden" view... NOT recomended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim-Fulda, Manager at Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your honest feedback.

We regret to notice your criticism to some circumstances in our hotel. For the fact that we did not succeed in satisfying your expectations during your stay, we are sorry.
We can not undo your experience, but we would like to apologize for all inadequateness you had during your stay in our hotel.
However we constantly strive to fulfil the expectations and wishes of our guests, so we offer our overnight guests free WiFi access since January 2015.

It is close to our hearts to reconcile you with our service, our wonderful hotel and the kind atmosphere of the staff. We would like to welcome you again as a satisfied guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights room on 3rd floor. Weather hot. No air con, so bedroom very hot. There was a balcony but it has no roof and there were two cheap plastic chairs with cushions, no table. Room small even though it was a 'superior' room. Dark furnishings. Tiny bathroom. Very mean on toiletries which were not replaced each day. Nice soft towels and bathrobes. In our package, mini bar contents were free apart from spirits. Very unpleasant smell in room. We first thought it was the drain in the bath, but discovered it was the carpet in front of balcony door which had a large dark damp patch. Animals are allowed in hotel, so we thought it was left by a previous occupant's dog. Staff tried cleaning or spraying it first, but we complained this hadn't worked. Unannounced a workman arrived, cut out a large piece of carpet and replaced it with a new piece. This didn't completely get rid of the smell. Really, the room should have not have been let out in the condition it was in - it was also generally dusty. Housekeeping clearly hadnt been doing their job and the staff were curiously uncommunicative throughout. The lift creaked and groaned comically and like much of the hotel had seen better days. The breakfast room was beautiful - food was ok but there was only 1 waitress. We finally achieved an appropriate discount after pushing the reception staff several times following their meagre first offer. There was no official apology throughout. Given its location and online writeups, we had expected something a bit special but we certainly didn't find it so.

Room Tip: Sorry, but we would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim-Fulda, Manager at Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your honest evaluation. We regret to notice your criticism to some circumstances in our hotel. Please feel certain we pursued your discomfort very attentive. We already talked in detail with all department managers and staff in charge to avoid such incidents in the future.

It is our effort to communicate our philosophy of hospitality and comfort to our guests. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize for all inadequateness you had during your stay in our hotel.

It is close to our hearts to reconcile you with our service, our wonderful hotel and the kind atmosphere of the staff. We would like to welcome you again as a satisfied guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda

Address: Pauluspromenade 2, 36037 Fulda, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Fulda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Fulda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep and meet right next to the Schlossgarten in the middle of the historical town of Fulda. The hotels offers you an unique combination of modern amenities and a princely atmosphere in the Apollo ballroom with view to the extensive garden. Culinary treats are best tasted in the vaults of the hotel's restaurant Diana cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim am Schlossgarten Fulda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.