We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good typical germal lical restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romer Pils Brunnen

Romer Pils Brunnen
Tongesgasse 19, Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)
69 287712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 1,849 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good typical germal lical restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Despite their central position in a touristic district worth visiting. O not expect " haute cuisine", is a traditional german and " Frankfurter" cuisine, fresh, rich, also tasty, very good service( german- english- russian speaking), they explain their menu to those who has no idea of the local food. Good. Tasty fish dishes, authentic cuisine, good beverage list.
Recomended

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    57
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definetaly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I followed tripadvisor to get to this place. At first blink, it looked like just an avarage pub, but I was like 'tripadvisor reviews can't be wrong'. And I'm happy to choosed this place in the end! The service is very nice, the beers are great, the meals are HUGE and very tasty, and the prices are normal. I definetaly recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Rather good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent pils and doppelbock beers, traditional german food options along with some interesting non traditional ones too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I visited this charming and cosy restaurant on a Sunday evening during a horrible rainstorm and it was just brilliant. I was only in Frankfurt a short time and this was my last night or I would most definitely have gone back to try some of the other dishes on the menu. It would have been lovely if the weather had been good to sit at one of the outside tables but not possible in the rain. The staff were welcoming and very helpful with the menu answering my mostly dumb questions about what exactly the various dishes were as this was my first visit to Germany. As I am not a sausage fan but really wanted to sample the local specialities I opted for one of the schnitzel main courses and it was absolutely delicious. The pork was succulent and the paprika sauce was plentiful and full of flavour which made me glad I had chosen mashed potato to accompany it. On this point I must say I think the menu specified a different kind of potato dish but the young lady who took my order had no problem accommodating my request. This was the whole attitude of the staff - nothing was a problem and they were so friendly, a total asset to the restaurant. I usually don't have room for dessert but just had to order some apfel strudel which was gorgeous. I had chosen this restaurant after reading great reviews of it on Tripadvisor and once again was not disappointed. I would thoroughly recommend this delightful place to anyone visiting Frankfurt.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Recommend to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good place to taste typical German kitchen and beer. Friendly staff. Reasonable prices - dinner for four men cost 95 euros including beer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romer Pils Brunnen also viewed

 

Been to Romer Pils Brunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romer Pils Brunnen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.