We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Frankfurter cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Storch Am Dom

Zum Storch Am Dom
Saalgasse 3-5, Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Altstadt)
069-284988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 1,712 restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Frankfurter cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Traditional atmosphere and alway very busy place. Despite seems to be a touristic restaurant , the quality is very good.
We tried very good knuckle of pork and venison. The mushroom cream was very good as well.
Very high the quality of the frankfurter beer.
Service is friendly. The tables are too small and they tend to squeeze people due to the number of customers they have to allocate.
A place to visit but make sure to make a reservation well in advance if you are more than two people.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    15
    28
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with work colleagues, lovely food and with and a very nice atmosphere and excellent helpful staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The pressure was on !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had booked for 4 to end our weekend away in Germany, but by Sunday afternoon the booking had increased from 4 - 14. One of our German hosts called the restaurant to amend the numbers, it was no problem at all. My husband had recommended the Zum Storch as his parents were regular patrons but he hadn't eaten there since he was 10 !! The pressure was on for this not be a total disaster .... well on the contrary. What a lovely restaurant, charming host and exceptionally good food. The Argentinian steak I was told by one guest was the best they'd ever had and my crispy ham hock was exactly that. crackling to die for. We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and had to leave for the airport, but we would have loved to try the sweets and coffees on offer. Thank you Alexander, I give you a high recommendation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Meal - Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My parents have been visiting here for the last 20+ years. So when I visited Frankfurt they said I should go and eat at the restaurant.

We were in a group of 14. Quick & excellent service, good beer and very reasonable in price.

We were made to feel very welcome and even though we only had 1.5 hours before we had to leave for the airport we were not made to feel rushed or in the way.

If you want good German food, good beer you can’t far wrong with the Storch and I can recommend the Steak and Bratkartoffeln

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good service & Pork Knuckle, always fully booked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our hotel conceige recommended this restaurant for pork knuckle so we came. Lucky we arrived before 6.30pm and got ourselves a table. After 7pm, it was all full inside, catering to a few Japanese tours. We tried their pork knuckle (huge) and the pasta noodle with champagne mushroom as well as white herring for appertizer and they were good. The service was nice that they paid attention to my daughter's needs.

A side note though, it seems most of the restaurants in Germany only has one high chair despite its size.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Storch Am Dom also viewed

 

Been to Zum Storch Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Storch Am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.