We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive portions, slightly pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Meatpackers

Chicago Meatpackers
Untermainanlage 8, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
069 23 16 59
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #372 of 1,779 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Price range: $6 - $37
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Chicago Meatpackers was the first authentic US restaurant to open in Frankfurt almost 20 years ago and we are still the number one address for burgers, ribs steaks and more. We look forward to welcoming you!Vor fast 20 Jahren war das Chicago Meatpackers das erste authentische US amerikanische Restaurant in Frankfurt. Noch heute sind wir die erste Anlaufstelle for authentische amerikanische Burger, Ribs und Steaks. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Massive portions, slightly pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went there with a group of friends. Saturday evening you can be sure to have many stag-do's and hen-nights there. The staff is very friendly which is a big plus. The thing letting them down is the food. I had the ribs, and they where a bit chewy. I love ribs and I often order them to try different locations. (On a quest to find the perfect ones...). My friends had mostly burgers and where happy with them.
I did not expected Frankfurt to be so pricey. I had ribs a few times here in London in similar restaurants, and they where cheaper. The portion size is huge though, but I would prefer a more managable portion size and better quality of the meat instead.
Definitely good for a group of blokes with big apetite.
As a starter we had some kind of onion-loaf, that one was very tasty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    97
    48
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not sure if was worth the walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Went in with an open mind. Fancied a steak.
Initally I thought as it was pretty full that I had made the right choice.
I ordered a starter which was very nice and a sirloin steak.
The steak was average didn't look that amazing.
For what it was it was overpriced. Perhaps as was in the centre of town that was the reason.
Looked forward to it all day but didn't come up to my expectation mainly because of a mediocre steak. If I go back I might try a burger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great place, great atmospheare, great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This restaurant was selected by a friend who was there before. At the end there was 20 of us having a fun dinner. This mexican/ texan restaurant has a great soul and you have to use the fingres for the propper experience. I had the wings and ribs, which were great and big buckets of mojito were just fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere/Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went here our last night in Frankfurt as it was a short walk from our hotel (Adina Apartment Hotel). The ambience is great, "warehouse" look, train theme, very "American". The service was great, very friendly, fast service, no waiting for he food. Their specialty is burgers and steak-cut fries. When the meal came it looked great - lovely presentation, however, we were disappointed to discover that the burgers are "meat patties" and not hand made. The same for the fries - a frozen product that was deep fried and over-salted. The cost of the burgers is pretty reasonable for Frankfurt - 10-13 euros.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced wannabe sports bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Greasy food. Bland tasting food. Incredibly slow service (an hour between starters- some of which were forgotten- and entrees). Poorly presented food. Location itself is cool, but everything else below par.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Meatpackers also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Meatpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Meatpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.