We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Im Herzen Afrikas

Im Herzen Afrikas
Gutleutstrasse 13, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Bahnhofsviertel)
069 / 24 24 60 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,780 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Japanese, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bahnhofsviertel
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's cheap (10 euro per person), the staff are really friendly and it's got a nice atmosphere. I wouldn't say the food was amazing but it was a memorable experience and I would really like to go back some time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    78
    22
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pomezia, Italy
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good African evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I went in this restaurant (which is close to the main station) an evening as business dinner with all colleagues. The restaurant is small, still they were able to accommodate all 25 persons in three big tables (and there were other guests). The atmosphere is nice, Africa-style furniture, and the food is a good typical hand-eating: we had the bread to use to take the different dishes, and pork and meat based courses, and also some vegetarian courses in a cream-style.
Suggested!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect price-quality ratio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A small restaurant always filled to the brim. Reservation needed, but certainly worth it. The food was fabulous and the setting fun. We had the 10 euro tasting platter that included 7 different meat and vegetable options together with injera bread. Will go again when I am in Frankfurt.

Note: you might end up sitting on a low stool or cushion (older people be ware) and the air in the cellar was a bit stale - might want to ask for a table upstairs if possible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb and exquisite food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went here with my spouse. Had to reserve beforehand. Filled to the brim. Long tables shared with strangers, but didn't really bother us. Very nice atmosphere. Friendly service to us who didn't know how to behave or eat. Food was exquisite and relatively cheap.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Extremely cheap food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

In the middle of the city this gem is hidden away, a stone's throw from the Euro sign. I recommend to take the 10 €/person big dish where you can share different kind of stews. I also had my Eritrean buddy quality proof it, and he was more than impressed.

Make sure you reserve on beforehand.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Im Herzen Afrikas also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Im Herzen Afrikas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Im Herzen Afrikas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.